TheManaDrain.com
September 26, 2025, 03:23:43 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Uba Mask, what of there are two in play?  (Read 1734 times)
darkchild
Basic User
**
Posts: 38


View Profile
« on: April 28, 2005, 07:58:25 pm »

What happens when i have two uba mask in play?

Example: I have 1 active welder and two uba mask in play , opp draw step.

He draws (or rather removes) yawgmothis will.

The first mask triggers and remove it from game , then the second trggiers and does nothing.

I weld the first mask out for some artifact.

Can my opponent still cast the yawgmoth's will since there is still an uba mask in play but it was not the same one that removed the will?

Thanks for the answers!
Logged
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2005, 08:16:46 pm »

Ok, first...and this is the important part: [card]uba mask[/card] does not trigger. It does not have a triggered ability, it generates a replacement effect.
When 2 or more replacement effects attempt to modify the same event, the controller of the event being modified chooses which effect replaces it.

419.9a - If two or more replacement or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object's controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply. Then the other effect applies if it is still appropriate. If one or more of the applicable replacement effects is a self-replacement effect (see Rule 419.6d), that effect is applied before any other replacement effects. If both players have to make these choices at the same time, follow the "Active Player, Nonactive Player rule" (see Rule 103.4). [CompRules 2003/10/01]


So your opponent decides which mask removes the Yawgs will from the game (and he must indicate which one).

You then weld that mask out. Since the will is a sorcery he may not play it in response to the welder ability.  Once the mask is out of play, any cards removed by it are staying put in the removed from the game zone.  When card text refers to its own name, it refers to itself only, so the Uba Mask reads: Each player may play cards he or she removed from the game with ~this~ this turn.

Since ~this~ is no longer in play, that effect is no longer generated and cannot be used.

202.2 - Text that refers to the object it's on by name means just that particular object and not any other duplicates of it, regardless of any name changes caused by game effects. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
darkchild
Basic User
**
Posts: 38


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2005, 05:56:41 am »

Hi,

Thanks for clearifying the basic thing,

Now what if i wheel of fortune or memory jar with two uba mask in play, how does that work then?
Logged
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2005, 06:19:00 am »

For each of the 7 cards you draw you choose which of the two replacement effects affect it.
So you will end up with 7 removed cards, devided over the two Uba Masks.
Logged
darkchild
Basic User
**
Posts: 38


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2005, 08:27:42 am »

Hi guys,

What happens if i wheel of fortune with two uba mask in play?

Is it any different if i memory jar with two mask in play?

What if my opponent memory jar on his turn and i have two uba mask in play?

Any help will be appreciated, Cheers!
« Last Edit: April 29, 2005, 11:45:33 am by darkchild » Logged
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2005, 11:52:39 pm »

@Darkchild: Gabethebabe just told you what happens. No point in asking it twice ^^
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
darkchild
Basic User
**
Posts: 38


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2005, 08:14:07 am »

I know that 7 cards are divided into between the two mask, what i dont know is the order does it happens?

From what i have been told, it uses APNAP.

So that means if i wheel during my turn, i remove my first top card and choose a mask and then my opponent removes his top card and chooses a mask till all the seven cards from each player are removed,

or

I removes all my top seven cards and choose a mask for each then my opponent removes his top seven cards and chooses a mask for it?

am i correct?
Logged
Godot
Texas Ranger
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 242


LIttle Lebowski Urban Achiever

Bigkingfrg
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2005, 03:14:27 pm »

Quote from: Comprehensive Rulebook
1. A player draws a card by putting the top card of his or her library into his or her hand. If an instruction tells a player to draw more than one card, the cards are drawn one at a time.

Whenever you are instructed to draw multiple cards each draw happens as its own action.  For example, 'Draw 7 cards' is to be read as 7 instances of 'Draw a card'.  So you will choose an Uba Mask that is responsible for replacing each of your 7 draws.
Logged

The Colorado Crew:  6 guys whose central preoccupations are weed and dick and fart jokes

Team Meandeck
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2005, 08:09:52 am »

I know that 7 cards are divided into between the two mask, what i dont know is the order does it happens?

From what i have been told, it uses APNAP.

So that means if i wheel during my turn, i remove my first top card and choose a mask and then my opponent removes his top card and chooses a mask till all the seven cards from each player are removed,

or

I removes all my top seven cards and choose a mask for each then my opponent removes his top seven cards and chooses a mask for it?

am i correct?

Neither player will receive priority while this occurs, so in realistic terms it really does not make a difference.
Either way you described will work.  As long as both players understand that:
a) each card is drawn individually and replaced by one mask or the other
b) neither of you will receive priority until the wheel has fully resolved
c) you must identify which mask has removed which card

So if you want to keep it simple, you remove each of your cards then have your opponent remove each of his cards.  You are both technically discarding and drawing at the same time, so technically it does happen simultaneously (from the games perspective).
Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2005, 08:49:34 am »

103.4. If both players would take an action at the same time, the active player (the player whose turn it is) makes any choices required, then the nonactive player makes any choices required, then the actions happen simultaneously. This rule is often referred to as the "Active Player, Nonactive Player (APNAP) rule."
Example: A card reads "Each player sacrifices a creature." First, the active player chooses a creature he or she controls. Then the nonactive player chooses a creature he or she controls. Then both creatures are sacrificed simultaneously.

413.2d If an effect requires both players to make choices or take actions at the same time, the active player makes and announces his or her choices first, and then the nonactive player does (knowing the active player's choices). Then the actions take place simultaneously. See rule 103.4. If a player must make more than one choice at a time, he or she makes the choices in the order written, or in the order he or she chooses if the choices aren't ordered. Then the actions are processed simultaneously.



Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.036 seconds with 18 queries.