TheManaDrain.com
September 11, 2025, 04:26:11 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Kaho, Minamo Historian  (Read 2487 times)
leviat
PHP Masta
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 419


Back to hating the French and loving Blondes :)

leviat21@hotmail.com leviat guru_leviat
View Profile WWW
« on: May 24, 2005, 12:54:49 pm »

Quote
From the FAQ:
Kaho, Minamo Historian
{2}{U}{U}
Legendary Creature -- Human Wizard
2/2
When Kaho, Minamo Historian comes into play, search your library for up to three instant cards and remove them from the game. Then shuffle your library.
{X}, {T}: You may play a card with converted mana cost X removed from the game with Kaho without paying its mana cost.

* If an effect takes a card Kaho removed from the game out of the removed-from-the-game zone (such as with a Wish from the _Judgment_(TM) set or with Kaho's own ability), then you can't use Kaho's ability to play that card.

* If another player gains control of Kaho, that player may play any of the cards removed from the game with Kaho's ability.

* Kaho's activated ability refers only to cards removed by its triggered ability. If another effect removed the cards, you won't be able to use Kaho to play those cards. (In judge-speak: Vesuvan Doppelganger copying Arc-Slogger and then copying Kaho -- with a Mirror Gallery in play -- won't let the Vesuvan-Sloggered cards get played with the Vesuvan-Kaho.)

Situation: I cast Kaho, when it comes into play I remove Ancestral, Mystical Tutor, and Brainstorm. My opponent then StoP's him. The following turn I cast another Kaho removing nothing. Can the second Kaho play the spells removed by the first Kaho?

What I Think: I believe it can since this is not an Imprint ability and the cards were removed by a Kaho.
Logged
Nibble
Basic User
**
Posts: 194


HisNameIsBoopy
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2005, 02:11:26 pm »

Quote from: Comp Rules
202.2. Text that refers to the object it’s on by name means just that particular object and not any other duplicates of it, regardless of any name changes caused by game effects.

I would say no. The fact that it's removed by 'a Kaho' isn't the same as being removed by the Kaho trying to use the ability, and by rule 202.2 here, that isn't enough.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft - We don't just play type 4 all the time, we swear
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2005, 02:23:31 pm »

No, you can't.

A very important word is missing to make this work. It says in the cardtext: ...removed from the game with Kaho..., not ...removed from the game with a Kaho...

Also:
Quote
* Kaho's activated ability refers only to cards removed by its triggered ability. If another effect removed the cards, you won't be able to use Kaho to play those cards. (In judge-speak: Vesuvan Doppelganger copying Arc-Slogger and then copying Kaho -- with a Mirror Gallery in play -- won't let the Vesuvan-Sloggered cards get played with the Vesuvan-Kaho.)
This is actually the answer to your question as well. The doppelganger can only reach the cards from its own triggered ability. In your case, the second Kaho is equal to the doppelganger Kaho.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
leviat
PHP Masta
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 419


Back to hating the French and loving Blondes :)

leviat21@hotmail.com leviat guru_leviat
View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2005, 03:10:44 pm »

Quote
This is actually the answer to your question as well. The doppelganger can only reach the cards from its own triggered ability. In your case, the second Kaho is equal to the doppelganger Kaho.
I disagree. The FAQ is merely illustrating that cards removed by a non-Kaho creature are not accessible.

To take my question one step further, if you are correct and it does follow the Imprint ruling, then does that mean if someone were to Flicker my Kaho, I would no longer be able to access the cards originally removed by him?
Logged
epeeguy
Basic User
**
Posts: 240



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2005, 03:34:45 pm »

I disagree. The FAQ is merely illustrating that cards removed by a non-Kaho creature are not accessible.

Both of the prior posters are correct.  If you were to play a second Kaho, you would not be able to use it to access the cards that were removed by the first Kaho.  That reason is rule 202.2.  When an ability refers to the card it is on (such as the triggered ability of Kaho), it is only referring to that specific card (and not any others).


To take my question one step further, if you are correct and it does follow the Imprint ruling, then does that mean if someone were to Flicker my Kaho, I would no longer be able to access the cards originally removed by him?

Correct.  If Kaho is removed from the game and then comes back into play, it will forget any prior information that was referenced by it, and have no "memory" of the cards that were previously removed.  So, you could not use it to remove 3 more cards and then play those cards.  But you would not be able to play the 3 that were removed previously.  That's covered in Rule 217.1c.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2005, 03:36:18 pm by epeeguy » Logged

Level 2 Judge

It's the wood that should fear your hand, not the other way around. No wonder you can't do it, you acquiesce to defeat before you even begin. - Pai Mei

(Retired Poster)
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2005, 03:44:37 pm »

To increase the amount of proof even further, read the ruling on skyship weatherlight here. I know crystalkeep isn't updated anymore, but I assume this won't have changed. It specifically states, that the removed cards can't be accessed again, unless using Ring of Maruff (or wishes).

When Kaho returns (after flickering for example), you can "imprint" 3 new instants, as the ability is a regular CITP, not one that requires you to play it from your hand. Searching for a flicker as one of the 3 cards would actually allow you to keep thinning your deck, getting useful instants along the way Smile
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
leviat
PHP Masta
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 419


Back to hating the French and loving Blondes :)

leviat21@hotmail.com leviat guru_leviat
View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2005, 03:54:15 pm »

Okay okay, I'm sold. Thanks all. (Although Flicker is a Sorcery, so it doesn't apply in your example Very Happy)
Logged
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2005, 04:12:28 pm »

Okay okay, I'm sold. Thanks all. (Although Flicker is a Sorcery, so it doesn't apply in your example Very Happy)

Oh right, I forgot flicker is even worse then I remembered it to be Smile
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
epeeguy
Basic User
**
Posts: 240



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2005, 05:13:55 pm »

Okay okay, I'm sold. Thanks all.

It's perfectly alright, and more than happy to help clear things up. Smile
Logged

Level 2 Judge

It's the wood that should fear your hand, not the other way around. No wonder you can't do it, you acquiesce to defeat before you even begin. - Pai Mei

(Retired Poster)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.42 seconds with 19 queries.