TheManaDrain.com
October 05, 2025, 10:52:45 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: splinter  (Read 935 times)
slicer
Basic User
**
Posts: 18


View Profile
« on: July 13, 2005, 08:37:47 am »

Player A has Engineered Explosives in play with 2 open Mana. Player B plays Splinter on EE. Player A sac's the artifact in response. Can Player B despite the sacrifice search for all copies in hand, grave and library ?
This question came up, because of the dot after "Remove target artifact from the game". Does that mean, that this are 2 independent actions and if the first is illegal ( no target anymore) the second will resolve nevertheless ( the target has already been chosen on announcement) ?

Splinter:
Rules Text (Oracle): Remove target artifact from the game. Search its controller’s graveyard, hand, and library for all cards with the same name as that artifact and remove them from the game. That player then shuffles his or her library.

Thank you
Logged
Jacques
Basic User
**
Posts: 31


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2005, 08:43:49 am »

The search doesn't happen.  All of the spell's targets are illegal, so the spell is countered upon resoliution.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.025 seconds with 16 queries.