TheManaDrain.com
September 30, 2025, 06:03:12 am
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News
:
Home
Help
Search
Calendar
Login
Register
TheManaDrain.com
>
Vintage Community Discussion
>
Rules Q&A
(Moderators:
The Atog Lord
,
Godder
,
Demonic Attorney
,
Clariax
) >
Yet Another Phyrexian Dreadnought Question
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Author
Topic: Yet Another Phyrexian Dreadnought Question (Read 1705 times)
Anusien
Adepts
Basic User
Posts: 3669
Yet Another Phyrexian Dreadnought Question
«
on:
August 14, 2005, 08:04:38 pm »
If you have Gamekeeper in play as your only creature in play, and you cast Phyrexian Dreadnouth, what happens? Are you forced/given the option to sacrifice the Gamekeeper, even though you don't have 12 points of power on the table?
Logged
Magic Level 3 Judge
Southern USA Regional Coordinator
Quote from: H.L. Mencken
The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.
Mykeatog
Full Members
Basic User
Posts: 265
Re: Yet Another Phyrexian Dreadnought Question
«
Reply #1 on:
August 14, 2005, 09:02:55 pm »
Yep.
Logged
Free Agent
Nibble
Basic User
Posts: 194
Re: Yet Another Phyrexian Dreadnought Question
«
Reply #2 on:
August 14, 2005, 09:03:22 pm »
You're forced to sacrifice him. This confused me a lot until it was properly explained to me, but the reasoning is that you always do as much as you can, even if you know you can't complete the full action. If an effect tells you to discard three cards and you only have one, you discard as much as you can. If Dreadnought tells you to sacrifice creatures with a total power of 12, you sacrifice creatures until you reach 12 power or you have no more creatures.
Logged
Team Grosse Manschaft - We don't just play type 4 all the time, we swear
spawn
Basic User
Posts: 13
Re: Yet Another Phyrexian Dreadnought Question
«
Reply #3 on:
August 20, 2005, 07:45:15 am »
this is wrong!
Ive been told by a judge that as long as you cant sacrifice 12 in power, you dont need to sacrifice anything.
so this whole wrath of god thing is false.
/spawn
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
Re: Yet Another Phyrexian Dreadnought Question
«
Reply #4 on:
August 20, 2005, 09:47:17 am »
Quote from: spawn on August 20, 2005, 07:45:15 am
this is wrong!
Ive been told by a judge that as long as you cant sacrifice 12 in power, you dont need to sacrifice anything.
so this whole wrath of god thing is false.
/spawn
Your judge was wrong.
Mykeatog and Nibble are correct.
Logged
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage Tournament Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Casual Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Creative
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Rules Q&A
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Miscellaneous
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Card Creation Forum
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage, Type-1 Forum
===> Archived Extreme Vintage Forum
===> Archived Tournament Results Forum
===> Archived Basic User/Newbie Forum
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Rules and Regulations
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> General Community Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Articles and Primers
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=====> Master List
=====> Set In Progress
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Global Vintage Tournament Reports and Results
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Tournament Announcement Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Tournament Announcements
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Other Formats
===> Non-Vintage
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Articles
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Deck Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Archives
=> Adept Chronicles
===> Classic MTGO Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Elder Dragon Highlander Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Northeast U.S.
===> Midwest U.S.
===> Western/Pacific U.S.
===> Southern U.S.
===> Canada
===> Europe
===> Other
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Community Introductions
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Introduction to TMD
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Type 4
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Blue-Based Control
===> Workshop-Based Prison
===> Ritual-Based Combo
===> Null Rod Based Aggro
===> Bazaar-Based Decks
=> General Strategy Discussion
===> Vintage Adept Q&A
===> General Strategy Discussion
=> Eternal Article Discussion
===> Online Tournaments
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Registration for TMD
-----------------------------
Lounges
-----------------------------
===> General Yankee Discussion
Loading...