TheManaDrain.com
November 05, 2025, 06:07:23 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Maroon  (Read 4143 times)
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #30 on: October 12, 2005, 07:32:29 pm »

And what happens when an island has "R: +1/+0" or "Tap: add one mana of the chosen color to your mana pool"?

You either keep all abilities, or none, and "all" has serious issues.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
asmoranomardicodais
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #31 on: October 12, 2005, 11:59:23 pm »

What the problem with either of those? Anyone knows an island with firebreathing is moot, so there's no problem with that unless you
genju it. And "add one mana of the chosen color" couldn't be an issue,because on something like quirion elves, the color was already chosen earlier, and it doesn't get unchosen just because the elves are now an island. I doubt there is any ability (other than maybe shapeshifter) that wouldcause a problem.

Besides, ninja islands are l33t (the pirates won't see 'em coming)
Logged
dandan
More Vintage than Adept
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1467


More Vintage than Adept


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #32 on: October 13, 2005, 12:47:50 am »

If leaving activated abilities alone is possible and means that this can cost 1UU then I'm for it!

Note that a Kobold would be a Red Island - Cuba!
Islandhome creatures would be safe from destruction from an opponent destroying their Islands, errr, sort of  Wink
This card would unleash the might of Dandan on an unsuspecting opponent. Sending a Colossus on vacation is bad but then having 4/1 big fish attack you really hurts.

If StP sends a creature farming, this would send a creature on holiday.
Logged

Playing bad cards since 1995
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #33 on: October 13, 2005, 12:12:10 pm »

Well, then what happens if you enchant a Licid with one of these? It becomes a "Basic Enchantment Land -- Aura Island"?
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
asmoranomardicodais
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: October 13, 2005, 12:34:17 pm »

 Very Happy Yeah, it would. But so what? You use the licid ability, it turns itself into an aura, attaches to something, and then you pay the mana to end the effect. It still works just the same.
Logged
SpencerForHire
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1473



View Profile
« Reply #35 on: October 13, 2005, 01:04:13 pm »

How about something like:

When Maroon comes into play, remove target creature from the game.
When Maroon leaves play, return that creature to play under its owner's control.

I know we are way past this but... [card]oubliette[/card].
Logged

Team Technology - Strictly better than our previous name.
dandan
More Vintage than Adept
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1467


More Vintage than Adept


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #36 on: October 14, 2005, 07:28:35 am »

The original idea was not to remove the creature but put it under nobody's control. That was a problem rules-wise. My idea was to take the creature out of the 'control' of its controller by putting it on an Island or technically putting an Island on it (sort of). This does a lot of things Oubliette doesn't, most of which are weird and therefore cool.

Although possibly the weirdest thing ever, I think we have avoided most rules issues and also as luck would have it, most power level and flavour issues too.

The fact that this makes Dandan even more powerful is entirely coincidental. Maybe.
Logged

Playing bad cards since 1995
JAG
Basic User
**
Posts: 50


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: October 19, 2005, 02:55:42 pm »

I think it is in flavor for it to keep its abilities, but you should change the ability of Maroon a bit, since at no point do we say that the enchanted creature actually becomes a land.  as it stands, we're removing its Type and adding a Subtype, but not a type.  In MODO execution, it would look like:

- Island

not good.  I suggest something like:

"Enchant creature or Island.
Enchanted creature is a land.  (It's no longer a creature.)
Enchanted land is an Island in addition to its land types.  It does not lose its abilities."

Basically the same functionality, but i believe it works better with the rules.  In fact, although it looks like you can enchant a land that's not an island, the aura rules prevent that, so it's functionally the same as it was before.  I do love the "this man is an island" flavor.

-JM
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 19 queries.