Also, this doesn't have anything to do with the specific question but it is Meddling Mage rule related so I thought I would throw this in here. If your opponent plays Meddling Mage, and you have Fire/Ice in your hand; if they name Fire/Ice with the Mage there is never a time between it resolving and naming when you can hit the Mage; since it is a as it comes into play name a card effect.
Same thing as Pithing Needle.
...which means that if you ask your opponent "what card are you naming?", you've implicitly allowed the Mage/Needle to resolve. I saw this like 4 different times at SCG Chicago.