TheManaDrain.com
September 08, 2025, 10:28:02 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Stax Questions - Smokestack, Goblin Welder, Uba Mask, etc.  (Read 4238 times)
BloodOfTheMartyr
Basic User
**
Posts: 2


View Profile
« on: November 28, 2005, 06:32:31 am »

I'm going to apologize up front about this post, I'm sorry, I'm new to the format, and I want to understand some of the complications with Stax - I don't have a big metagame where I'm from, but a bunch of my friends really like playing the decks, but we're not sure if we're doing everything right.  Hopefully you all can help me with it?

Smokestack's current rules text (oracle) is:

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may put a soot counter on Smokestack.
At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player sacrifices a permanent for each soot counter on Smokestack.

Can I put the "At the beginning of your upkeep, you may put a soot counter on Smokestack" on the stack, then immediately after, while the first ability has not resolved, put the "At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player sacrifices a permanent for each soot counter on Smokestack" so that I don't have to sacrifice anything during this upkeep, but I still get the counter?  That's how we've been playing, and we've been wondering if it's accurate.

Also, if the Smokestack has four soot counters on it, and I sacrifice the Smokestack to itself, I STILL have to sacrifice three more permanants, correct?  (We've also been playing like this.)

Goblin Welder:  A REALLY basic question, I'm sorry about this:

During my upkeep step, at the beginning of my upkeep, can I use Goblin Welder to weld out a Smokestack with three soot counters on it for a sootless Smokestack in my graveyard, so I don't have to sacrifice a bunch of permanents?

Also, I could just weld out the Smokestack during my untap step, after untapping Goblin Welder, right?

Uba Mask:

Uba Mask's oracle is this:

If a player would draw a card, that player removes that card from the game face up instead.
Each player may play cards he or she removed from the game with Uba Mask this turn.

I think I know how the Uba Mask/Goblin Welder trick works after reading a good bit on this website. 

How it works is after they reveal the card that they drew, you can use Goblin Welder to weld out the Uba Mask for another artifact, and then they can't ever play that card, but I have a question:

If they reveal a darkblast or lava dart (which are instants), can they target my welder before I weld out the Uba Mask?  We've been playing that the player drawing the instant can use the instant, but if they can't, that'd be nice to know.

Also, if I weld out Uba Mask 1 FOR Uba Mask 2 in my graveyard, they don't get the card, right?

Also, I can't use Mishra's Workshop mana for artifact's activated abilites, right?  Someone told me that you could, and I told him that the card and oracle just says playing artifacts.

This is a silly question, but can I imprint Duplicant onto itself?  The oracle says:

Imprint — When Duplicant comes into play, you may remove target nontoken creature from the game. (The removed card is imprinted on this artifact.)
As long as a creature card is imprinted on Duplicant, Duplicant has the power, toughness, and creature types of the last creature card imprinted on it. It's still a Shapeshifter.

If I _can_ remove Duplicant from the game by using it's own ability on itself, and I drew it this turn with an Uba Mask in play, could I play it again and do the same thing?

For instance, let's say I have about 100 mana because I have a crucible of worlds, fastbond, wasteland, and tolarian academy out in addition to my 20 artifacts.

I have an Uba Mask and a Pandemonium [Whenever a creature comes into play, that creature’s controller may have it deal damage equal to its power to target creature or player of his or her choice.] in play.  I untap, do nothing during my upkeep, and RevealFromGame a Duplicant because of the Uba Mask.  I then play Duplicant, RFG it with it's own ability, do that 16 times and win.

Is this sound?

Also, isn't this the sweetest kill ever?  Heh.

Also, what happens if I have a pandemonium in play and I Duplicant a Darksteel Colossus?  Do I do 2 damage to a target or 11?

Do I get to pick in which order the abilities stack, and so can I change it to 11?  For instance:  I can stack the Pandemonium's come into play ability first, then the duplicant's imprint ability, so that the duplicant's imprint ability happens first, and the Pandemonium's ability THEN looks at Duplicant's power?

Pandemonium's ruling things:

Oct 4, 2004 - The triggered ability does not check the creature's power until the ability resolves. If the creature is not in play when the ability resolves, it does damage equal to the power of the creature right before it left play. This means that if a creature comes into play which can destroy itself as a "comes into play" ability, the order of resolution of the triggered abilities does not matter.

Does this mean it'll do 11 damage if I stack it like I said above?

Thanks for answering all these questions.  I bet I have more, but I just can't remember all of them right now.  Thanks!
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 06:49:25 am by BloodOfTheMartyr » Logged
Godder
Remington Steele
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3264


"Steele here"

walfootrot@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2005, 07:52:24 am »

Quote from: BloodOfTheMartyr
Smokestack's current rules text (oracle) is:

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may put a soot counter on Smokestack.
At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player sacrifices a permanent for each soot counter on Smokestack.

Can I put the "At the beginning of your upkeep, you may put a soot counter on Smokestack" on the stack, then immediately after, while the first ability has not resolved, put the "At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player sacrifices a permanent for each soot counter on Smokestack" so that I don't have to sacrifice anything during this upkeep, but I still get the counter?  That's how we've been playing, and we've been wondering if it's accurate.

Yes, you can do that.

Quote
Also, if the Smokestack has four soot counters on it, and I sacrifice the Smokestack to itself, I STILL have to sacrifice three more permanants, correct?  (We've also been playing like this.)

That's right.

Quote
Goblin Welder:  A REALLY basic question, I'm sorry about this:

During my upkeep step, at the beginning of my upkeep, can I use Goblin Welder to weld out a Smokestack with three soot counters on it for a sootless Smokestack in my graveyard, so I don't have to sacrifice a bunch of permanents?

No, because you don't gain priority until after "at beginning of upkeep" triggers are placed on the stack and once it's on the stack, it will resolve normally, using last known information (3 counters). Usual procedure is to weld it out at the end of their turn.

Quote
Also, I could just weld out the Smokestack during my untap step, after untapping Goblin Welder, right?

No, because players don't gain priority during the Untap step - you simply untap and move straight to the Upkeep step.

Quote
Uba Mask:

Uba Mask's oracle is this:

If a player would draw a card, that player removes that card from the game face up instead.
Each player may play cards he or she removed from the game with Uba Mask this turn.

I think I know how the Uba Mask/Goblin Welder trick works after reading a good bit on this website. 

How it works is after they reveal the card that they drew, you can use Goblin Welder to weld out the Uba Mask for another artifact, and then they can't ever play that card, but I have a question:

If they reveal a darkblast or lava dart (which are instants), can they target my welder before I weld out the Uba Mask?  We've been playing that the player drawing the instant can use the instant, but if they can't, that'd be nice to know.

Also, if I weld out Uba Mask 1 FOR Uba Mask 2 in my graveyard, they don't get the card, right?

At the beginning of the Draw step, the player whose turn it is draws a card automatically. This action doesn't use the stack, and it can't be responded to, but replacement effects are still applied e.g. Uba Mask. Then players gain priority, and may play instants and abilities e.g. the Welder's ability, or cast any instants that were drawn, or removed from the game by Uba Mask, as the case may be. If they drew the card (or set it aside), then they have priority first, and can play it before you get a chance to weld the Uba Masks. However, even if they passed priority, and then you put Goblin Welder's ability on the stack, they could still play any instants in response as in the Smokestack example above. Once the Uba Masks are exchanged, any cards removed from the game up to that point can no longer be played.

Quote
Also, I can't use Mishra's Workshop mana for artifact's activated abilites, right?  Someone told me that you could, and I told him that the card and oracle just says playing artifacts.

You're right on this one. Note that you can still use it to pay additional costs e.g. Trinisphere, Sphere of Resistance.

Quote
This is a silly question, but can I imprint Duplicant onto itself?  The oracle says:

Imprint — When Duplicant comes into play, you may remove target nontoken creature from the game. (The removed card is imprinted on this artifact.)
As long as a creature card is imprinted on Duplicant, Duplicant has the power, toughness, and creature types of the last creature card imprinted on it. It's still a Shapeshifter.

You can remove it from the game, but it won't be imprinted on itself, because it won't be in play any more.

Quote
If I _can_ remove Duplicant from the game by using its own ability on itself, and I drew it this turn with an Uba Mask in play, could I play it again and do the same thing?

No, because the game knows that Duplicant was removed by Imprint, and not by Uba Mask (also, the game treats it as a different card once it changes zones).

Quote
For instance, let's say I have about 100 mana because I have a crucible of worlds, fastbond, wasteland, and tolarian academy out in addition to my 20 artifacts.

I have an Uba Mask and a Pandemonium [Whenever a creature comes into play, that creature’s controller may have it deal damage equal to its power to target creature or player of his or her choice.] in play.  I untap, do nothing during my upkeep, and RevealFromGame a Duplicant because of the Uba Mask.  I then play Duplicant, RFG it with it's own ability, do that 16 times and win.

Is this sound?

Sadly not, for the reasons noted above.

Quote
Also, isn't this the sweetest kill ever?  Heh.

Also, what happens if I have a pandemonium in play and I Duplicant a Darksteel Colossus?  Do I do 2 damage to a target or 11?

Do I get to pick in which order the abilities stack, and so can I change it to 11?  For instance:  I can stack the Pandemonium's come into play ability first, then the duplicant's imprint ability, so that the duplicant's imprint ability happens first, and the Pandemonium's ability THEN looks at Duplicant's power?

Pandemonium's ruling things:

Oct 4, 2004 - The triggered ability does not check the creature's power until the ability resolves. If the creature is not in play when the ability resolves, it does damage equal to the power of the creature right before it left play. This means that if a creature comes into play which can destroy itself as a "comes into play" ability, the order of resolution of the triggered abilities does not matter.

Does this mean it'll do 11 damage if I stack it like I said above?

Yes, as long as the imprint successfully resolves.

Quote
Thanks for answering all these questions.  I bet I have more, but I just can't remember all of them right now.  Thanks!

No problems - I'm sure TMD will be up to the challenge!
Logged

Quote from: Remington Steele
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2005, 02:46:51 am »

Quote
Quote
Also, I can't use Mishra's Workshop mana for artifact's activated abilites, right?  Someone told me that you could, and I told him that the card and oracle just says playing artifacts.

You're right on this one. Note that you can still use it to pay additional costs e.g. Trinisphere, Sphere of Resistance.


Mishra's Workshop won't, however, let you pay off a Mana Leak.
Logged

Dante
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1415


Netdecking better than you since newsgroup days

wdicks23
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2005, 12:17:44 pm »

Quote
Quote
Also, I can't use Mishra's Workshop mana for artifact's activated abilites, right?  Someone told me that you could, and I told him that the card and oracle just says playing artifacts.

You're right on this one. Note that you can still use it to pay additional costs e.g. Trinisphere, Sphere of Resistance.


Mishra's Workshop won't, however, let you pay off a Mana Leak.

To clarify, Trinisphere and Sphere of Resistance aren't additional costs like Mana Leak is - they modify the casting cost of the artifact itself, which is why you can use Workshop mana for it.  Mana Leak is a separate "pay 3 or X happens", not related to casting cost at all.  Daze is the same as Mana Leak.
Logged

Team Laptop

I hate people.  Yes, that includes you.
I'm bringing sexy back
Zomar
Basic User
**
Posts: 67


Hand of God

ramozthebanisher
View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2005, 10:39:34 pm »

new question.

Is the number of permanents a player sacks to smokestack determined on resolution of the ability or when putting it onto the stack? For example, if a smokestack is set to 3 and I stack it so the remove a counter ability resolves first (putting smokestacks to 2 soot counters), and then resolve the sacrifice ability, how many permanents must I sacrifice? 2 or 3?
Logged

what is tap?
Komatteru
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 783

Joseiteki


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2005, 11:30:01 pm »

new question.

Is the number of permanents a player sacks to smokestack determined on resolution of the ability or when putting it onto the stack? For example, if a smokestack is set to 3 and I stack it so the remove a counter ability resolves first (putting smokestacks to 2 soot counters), and then resolve the sacrifice ability, how many permanents must I sacrifice? 2 or 3?

There is no remove a counter ability.  You can put one on, or not.  Therefore, you sacrifice 3 unless you decide to stack the effects in the other way, meaning you could sacrifice four.
Logged
Zomar
Basic User
**
Posts: 67


Hand of God

ramozthebanisher
View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2005, 07:17:50 am »

talk about read the facking card.

I'm retarded, sorry.
Logged

what is tap?
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2005, 05:45:37 am »

I'm retarded, sorry.
Yes you are Wink, but the question is legitimate.
There are cards that can remove counters, like e.g.

Chisei, Heart of Oceans
2UU   
Legendary Creature — Spirit   
4/4   
Flying
At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Chisei, Heart of Oceans unless you remove a counter from a permanent you control.

First add to the stack the ability to add a counter, then the ability to sac permanents, then the ability of Chisei.
Chisei revolves first, you remove (say the only) a counter of your Smokestack, you sac nothing upon resolution of the sac effect and then you add a soot counter. A neat combo.
Logged
pyr0ma5ta
Basic User
**
Posts: 451


More cowbell


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2005, 04:20:25 am »

How about if my opponent, playing Sensei's combo, has a Helm of Awakening in play, and I have a resistance sphere?  Does it matter in what order they were played? 
Logged

Team Mishra's Jerkshop: Mess with the best, die like the rest.
Godder
Remington Steele
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3264


"Steele here"

walfootrot@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2005, 04:38:34 am »

Quote from: pyr0ma5ta
How about if my opponent, playing Sensei's combo, has a Helm of Awakening in play, and I have a resistance sphere?  Does it matter in what order they were played?

No - you apply both i.e. they cancel each other out.
Logged

Quote from: Remington Steele
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
pyr0ma5ta
Basic User
**
Posts: 451


More cowbell


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2005, 08:08:51 pm »

How about this.  I imprint his werebear on my duplicant.  He has thresh.  Is my dup 4/4, 1/1, or depend on thresh?
Logged

Team Mishra's Jerkshop: Mess with the best, die like the rest.
Buttons
Basic User
**
Posts: 122



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2005, 09:39:09 pm »

I don't know if that question has anything to do with Stax.  Smile   Mr. Green

I think your duplicant would be a 1/1, though.
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2005, 10:46:54 pm »

Duplicant would be a 1/1.

Please do not post off-topic questions in a thread for a different rules issue.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.045 seconds with 19 queries.