TheManaDrain.com
September 08, 2025, 07:06:49 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Graveyard stacking during the Combat Damage Step  (Read 2238 times)
cssamerican
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 439



View Profile
« on: January 21, 2006, 03:40:43 pm »

Ok, this is the first time this have ever come up for me. I thought I would win but I wasn't sure enough to argue it out, plus shortly after this his MWS client must have crashed because we got disconnected. I suppose what I am asking for is a detailed explanation of how this plays out for next time it comes up. That is if I am even right about the outcome:)

I have Birds of Paradise, Volrath's Shapeshifter and Survival of the Fittest in play and the top card in my graveyard is Phyrexian Dreadnought. My opponent has Razia, Boros Archangel in play. I declare my attack with Volrath's Shapeshifter and he declares he is blocking with Razia, Boros Archangel. When damage goes on the stack I use Survival of the Fittest to make the top card of my graveyard Phage the Untouchable. My opponent then tapped Razia, Boros Archangel to deflect 3 points of damage to my bird. Now my question is would Phage be covered up by the bird before it triggers the player loses the game clause?


« Last Edit: January 21, 2006, 03:51:42 pm by cssamerican » Logged

In war it doesn't really matter who is right, the only thing that matters is who is left.
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2006, 06:15:12 pm »

Nine points of Trample damage go on the stack. Razia turns these into 6 on the player and 3 on the BoP. Upon resolution of combat damage, Phage triggers, then we check SBE. Birds dies, Shapeshifter dies. Phage goes on the stack, and player dies upon resolution of the trigger.
Logged
vartemis
Basic User
**
Posts: 503



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2006, 07:21:13 pm »

Nine points of Trample damage go on the stack. Razia turns these into 6 on the player and 3 on the BoP. Upon resolution of combat damage, Phage triggers, then we check SBE. Birds dies, Shapeshifter dies. Phage goes on the stack, and player dies upon resolution of the trigger.
I understand how this works regarding phage, but I just want to clarify something, as I might have played the situation wrong in my head.  This is how I would have thought (end result the same regarding phage) it worked:

12 trample damage is assigned to the angel.  3 is redirected to the BOP. That now leaves 9 points of trample damage going over to the opponent.  then the rest is as you said.  The main thing I am confused of is trample damage regarding protection/redirection.  At what point does the damage get assigned to the player?  Can you assign 9 damage to the player, and let Razia survive, or do you have to reassign 3 more damage on her since the first 3 didnt kill her?  I know that if I attack with a 12/12 trampler and my opponent blocks with a colossus, I can assign 1 point of damage to my opponent, even though the blocker isnt destroyed because it was targeted to the creature's full toughness with damage. Is Razia different because her ability must take place during damage asignment?  SO you assign 3 to her and float 9 (tentitive to the opponent), and since the original 3 is redirected you must reassign 3 more to her because damage was never actually assigned to her because it was retargeted?  If the 1 point of damage was prevented on the colossus in the previous example, would the remaining point not trample over anymore because there is still one more damage spot available?

The main reason why I am asking this is if your oppenent is at 9 or less life, and phage is not an option, can you kill them with this swing? Do you understand what I am asking?  Please say yes hehehe.

j
Logged
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2006, 07:48:18 pm »

You have to assign damage to the blocking creatures equal to at least their current thoughtness. Protection or redirection effects are not taken into account here.

Also, Razia's ability happens during damage resolution. Instead of taking 3 damages, these go to another creature. This is actually the reason why It's Phage that deals damage, and not the Bird.
Logged
vartemis
Basic User
**
Posts: 503



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2006, 03:44:56 am »

You have to assign damage to the blocking creatures equal to at least their current thoughtness. Protection or redirection effects are not taken into account here.

Also, Razia's ability happens during damage resolution. Instead of taking 3 damages, these go to another creature. This is actually the reason why It's Phage that deals damage, and not the Bird.

So I attack with the shapeshifter, and during damage resolution, the first 3 gets reassigned, so I must assign another 3 to her because she was never actually assigned damage in the first place, leaving 6 to trample over during resolution?  Am I understanding you correctly?

j
Logged
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2006, 06:47:30 am »

That is indeed a wrong interpretation.

This should clear all confusion:

Quote
#  502.9b - The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. If all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among the blocking creatures and the defending player. When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already on the creature and damage from other creatures that will be assigned at the same time (see Rule 502.9e). The controller need not assign lethal damage to all blocking creatures but in that case can't assign any damage to the defending player. [CompRules 2005/10/01]
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
cssamerican
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 439



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2006, 10:00:12 pm »

Thanks guys, that is what I thought would happen. I just wasn't sure exactly how Razia's ability worked but this cleared it up for me:
Also, Razia's ability happens during damage resolution. Instead of taking 3 damages, these go to another creature. This is actually the reason why It's Phage that deals damage, and not the Bird.
Logged

In war it doesn't really matter who is right, the only thing that matters is who is left.
pyr0ma5ta
Basic User
**
Posts: 451


More cowbell


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2006, 11:04:06 pm »

Why didn't he just turn Razia's damage at your face?  The game would be a draw, right?
Logged

Team Mishra's Jerkshop: Mess with the best, die like the rest.
Cross
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


Ribs+24+7
View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2006, 01:15:51 am »

Because that's not how Razia works.
Logged

the GG skwad

"109)   Cast Leeches.

110)   You win the game."
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2006, 06:58:16 am »

Why didn't he just turn Razia's damage at your face?  The game would be a draw, right?
As Cross said: you didn´t read the card.

But you made another error. Suppose you manage to redirect part of phage´s combat damage to the owner of Phage, the game would not be a draw.

After combat damage resolves two triggered Phage abilities would go on the stack, and the controller of Phage can decide the order. He´ll make the opponent lose first.
Logged
pyr0ma5ta
Basic User
**
Posts: 451


More cowbell


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2006, 10:52:10 pm »

I apologise.  Razia doesn't go to the dome.  However, if it could, it would be APNAP stacking, actually, and phage's owner would lose first!
Logged

Team Mishra's Jerkshop: Mess with the best, die like the rest.
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2006, 11:20:33 pm »

I apologise.  Razia doesn't go to the dome.  However, if it could, it would be APNAP stacking, actually, and phage's owner would lose first!

No, it wouldn't be APNAP, since the same guy would control both triggers.  Gabethebabe was correct.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.033 seconds with 17 queries.