TheManaDrain.com
October 05, 2025, 03:11:47 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Heavy Fog: Legal but LITERALLY Unplayable?  (Read 2945 times)
Rabbit Scribe
Basic User
**
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« on: February 21, 2006, 12:10:32 pm »

Heavy Fog.

Name: Heavy Fog
Set & Rarity:  Portal Three Kingdoms uncommon
 
Cost: 2 {G}
Card Type: Sorcery 

Rules Text (Oracle): Play Heavy Fog only during the declare attackers step and only if you are the defending player.Prevent all damage that would be dealt to you by attacking creatures this turn.

Format Legality: Legal in: Legacy, Vintage, Two-Headed Giant

 

That's the way it looks to me.  I guess you could run it with Quicken, or at least pitch it to Bounty of the Hunt...
« Last Edit: February 21, 2006, 12:14:08 pm by Rabbit Scribe » Logged
49 Cents
Basic User
**
Posts: 591


Von Dutch


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2006, 12:29:08 pm »

It has eratta. It's now an Instant. And so are those other cards from portal..
Logged

Team TDC: The man with a new idea is a fool. Unless the idea turns out to be a succes.

www.BeNeLegacy.nl - For all your Legacy
The Atog Lord
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3451


The+Atog+Lord
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2006, 03:12:55 pm »

On the other hand, Jandor's Ring is legal, but even with errata the rules of the game can't enforce the card.
Logged

The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
jro
Basic User
**
Posts: 170


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2006, 04:37:50 pm »

It has eratta. It's now an Instant. And so are those other cards from portal..
Where is the errata that makes it an instant recorded?  It's not in gatherer, and not on the checklist for the set.

And doesn't Sylvan Library (which is potentially tournament playable) suffer the same problem as Jandor's Ring?
Logged
Harlequin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1860


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2006, 07:11:51 am »

Both those cards are legal.  You can only use the ring if you are visibly keeping track of wich cards you drew this turn. for example spliting your hand into two face down piles.  All the cards are technically IN your hand, so for cards like Mindtwist etc, they are all in hand.  This method must be visible and trackable by your opponent (face down piles work well).  If you ever loose track of wich cards were drawn this turn, then you cannot use the ring... as for sylvan library, if you loose track of the cards for THAT effect, there will most likely be judges and/or gamelosses involved.

Logged

Member of Team ~ R&D ~
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2006, 11:11:12 am »

This will never be a problem in practice because the card is a completely unplayable POS
Logged
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2006, 12:50:29 pm »

Quote
as for sylvan library, if you loose track of the cards for THAT effect, there will most likely be judges and/or gamelosses involved.

Quite simple actually. Then you just drew both the extra cards and lose 8 life for those...
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2006, 11:46:29 pm »

It has eratta. It's now an Instant. And so are those other cards from portal..
Where is the errata that makes it an instant recorded?  It's not in gatherer, and not on the checklist for the set.
I was going to yell at you for this...but you're right, Gatherer doesn't reflect it. That's pretty crazy. Notify Wizards, they'll fix it ASAP.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
LordHomerCat
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1397

Lord+Homer+Cat
View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2006, 11:59:35 am »

For some reason, I thought that they left those cards as Sorceries with the "play this only..." clauses still in tact?  Gatherer seems to imply the same.
Logged

Team Meandeck

Team Serious

Quote from: spider
LordHomerCat is just mean, and isnt really justifying his statements very well, is he?
Apollyon
Basic User
**
Posts: 395


/lurk

52734318 i52734318
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2006, 10:52:33 pm »

I was going to yell at you for this...but you're right, Gatherer doesn't reflect it. That's pretty crazy. Notify Wizards, they'll fix it ASAP.

After discussion, It Just Works.

From the Complete Rules: 103.1. Whenever a card's text directly contradicts these rules, the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation. The only exception is that a player can concede the game at any time (see rule 102.3a).

If you don't like it, don't play the card. But it's not like there aren't strictly better variants anyways.
Logged
jro
Basic User
**
Posts: 170


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2006, 12:53:14 am »

After discussion, It Just Works.

From the Complete Rules: 103.1. Whenever a card's text directly contradicts these rules, the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation. The only exception is that a player can concede the game at any time (see rule 102.3a).
How does this rule apply?  The Oracle text for Heavy Fog says to play it only when certain conditions are met.  How does that give you permission to play Heavy Fog at that time, in violation of the rules for when you can play sorceries?  If a sorcery said "Play this only when you have an empty graveyard", I wouldn't be able to play that spell during my opponent's turn just because I had an empty graveyard: I still need to meet the other conditions for when sorceries can be legally played.
Logged
forests failed you
De Stijl
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2018


Venerable Saint

forcefieldyou
View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2006, 02:12:14 pm »

Yeah the portal Instand/Sorceries ahve all been changed over to Instants.

I'm still pissed that I can't Burning Wish for Mystic Denial.  That would be so hot... Cast Burning Wish and get a hard counter....  It is to dream the impossible dream
Logged

Grand Prix Boston 2012 Champion
Follow me on Twitter: @BrianDeMars1
Evenpence
Basic User
**
Posts: 815


AlphaFoNGGGG
View Profile Email
« Reply #12 on: March 15, 2006, 08:33:15 am »

Yeah the portal Instand/Sorceries ahve all been changed over to Instants.

I'm still pissed that I can't Burning Wish for Mystic Denial.  That would be so hot... Cast Burning Wish and get a hard counter....  It is to dream the impossible dream

They should keep them as sorceries that you can play at instant speed.
Logged

Quote
[17:25] Desolutionist: i hope they reprint empty the warrens as a purple card in planar chaos
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: April 24, 2006, 04:44:23 pm »

Looks like the same Oracle update that killed Time Vault changed this card to Instant. So that issue's settled.

Thanks to jro for pointing this out.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.08 seconds with 17 queries.