TheManaDrain.com
December 29, 2025, 02:22:36 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question regarding Hermit Druid & Dredge  (Read 1647 times)
XeroSlainX
Basic User
**
Posts: 6

n/a ImaDav13 n/a
View Profile Email
« on: March 03, 2006, 03:01:37 am »

Suppose I'm playing a Dredge deck with Ichorids, Ashen Ghouls and etc. The turn after I play Hermit Druid, can I use his ability to put cards in my graveyard at the beginning of my upkeep putting all Ichorids and Ghouls into my graveyard and then put all the creatures into play the same turn after I dump them into the graveyard?
Logged

i]"If you don't use Gorilla Shaman in your Ankh Sligh deck, you deserve to be attacked by a mob of angry Turkish schoolchildren wielding enraged hamsters as weapons. "[/i]
-Ed Paltzik
The Atog Lord
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3451


The+Atog+Lord
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2006, 03:14:19 am »

No.

The abilities on the recurring monsters all trigger at the beginning of your upkeep. By the time you have priority to activate your Druid, it's already too late for their abilities to trigger this turn.
Logged

The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
Thug
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 305



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2006, 06:46:36 am »

Actually there is a difference between Ichorid and Ashen Ghoul:

Quote
Ichord:

Text (TO): 3/1, Haste. ; At end of turn, sacrifice ~this~. ; At the beginning of your upkeep, if ~this~ is in your graveyard, you may remove a black creature card in your graveyard other than ~this~ from the game. If you do, return ~this~ to play.

Quote
Ashen Ghoul:

Text (IA+errata): 3/1, Haste. ; {B}: Return ~this~ from your graveyard to play. Play this ability only during your upkeep and only if three or more creature cards are above ~this~. [Oracle 2002/03/01]

Ashen Ghoul's can be activated during your whole upkeep, so also after you used the Hermit
That is what I thought at least,

Koen
Logged

-Most People Believe Magic Is Only A Trick. Why Change Their Minds??-  (Sleight Of Hand)
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2006, 09:59:27 am »

Thug is correct. Ashen Ghoul has an activated ability, not a triggered one.
Logged
XeroSlainX
Basic User
**
Posts: 6

n/a ImaDav13 n/a
View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2006, 10:57:46 pm »

I have another question and many judges I asked had quite a bit of different responses.

Say I activate hermit Druid at my opponent's end step and I have 1 Darksteel Colossus and it gets shuffled into library.
On my upkeep I return all the creatures to play.

here's the question, can I dredge a Darkblast or any dredge that is greater than 1? Some said I can because I will look at my next 3 with it only being Colossus and he will get shuffled back in.
Others said you have to have at 3(for Darkblast since its dredge is 3) card in your library to dredge.

http://morphling.de/top8decks.php?id=355
There is a list that has a Darksteel Colossus in it and I imagine it works the same way as I mentioned.

Can anyone give me some help please! Thanks Very Happy
Logged

i]"If you don't use Gorilla Shaman in your Ankh Sligh deck, you deserve to be attacked by a mob of angry Turkish schoolchildren wielding enraged hamsters as weapons. "[/i]
-Ed Paltzik
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2006, 02:56:26 am »

502.47a Dredge is a static ability that functions only while the card with dredge is in a player’s graveyard. “Dredge N” means “As long as you have at least N cards in your library, if you would draw a card, you may instead put N cards from the top of your library into your graveyard and return this card from your graveyard to your hand.”

And as if this wasn´t clear enough:

502.47b A player with fewer cards in his or her library than the number required by a dredge ability can’t put any of them into his or her graveyard this way.

Colossus is there to make sure you can activate Druid EOT and win in your own turn without decking yourself.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2006, 03:00:23 am by Gabethebabe » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.033 seconds with 18 queries.