TheManaDrain.com
September 19, 2025, 01:41:10 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: R&D on a Stick  (Read 3914 times)
TR
Basic User
**
Posts: 17


View Profile
« on: May 02, 2006, 07:16:17 am »

Am I interpreting the rules correctly if I say that one can imprint Research // Development onto Isochron scepter?

Research // Development
Type: Instant // Instant
Cost: UG // 3UR
Oracle: Choose up to four cards you own from outside the game and shuffle them into your library.
//
Put a 3/1 red Elemental creature token into play unless any opponent lets you draw a card. Repeat this process two more times.

Isochron Scepter
Imprint — When Isochron Scepter comes into play, you may remove an instant card with converted mana cost 2 or less in your hand from the game. (The removed card is imprinted on this artifact.)
2, T: You may copy the imprinted instant card. If you do, you may play the copy without paying its mana cost.

Rules:
505.5. Effects that ask for a particular characteristic of a split card while it's in a zone other than the stack get two answers (one for each of the split card's two halves).
505.6. Effects that ask if a split card's characteristic (in any zone other than the stack) matches a given value get only one answer. This
answer is "yes" if either side of the split card matches the given value.

I'm leaning totoward05.6, since isochron doesn't ask for the converted mana cost it just checks for a value of 2 or less and one "yes" is enough. I vaguely rerememberome "ask the judge" column or other where it was explicitly explained how split cards work with the scepter but I can't find it again, so I'm asking here.

Logged
AmbivalentDuck
Tournament Organizers
Basic User
**
Posts: 2807

Exile Ancestral and turn Tiago sideways.

ambivalentduck ambivalentduck ambivalentduck
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2006, 07:27:31 am »

Yes, you can imprint it using Research's characteristics, but use both sides either side via Isochron's activated ability.  They actually ran an article on MTG.com the other day that summarized all of the relevant rulings on split cards.  http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/daily/af116
« Last Edit: May 02, 2006, 12:32:32 pm by Matt » Logged

A link to the GitHub project where I store all of my Cockatrice decks.
Team TMD - If you feel that team secrecy is bad for Vintage put this in your signature
Any interest in putting together/maintaining a Github Git project that hosts proven decks of all major archetypes and documents their changes over time?
TR
Basic User
**
Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2006, 08:11:53 am »

Well, talk about not seeing the forest for all the trees. Thanks for the link.
Logged
chrissss
Basic User
**
Posts: 418


Just be yourself


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2006, 04:30:30 am »

if the split cards can be played like this, then I am going to try and make a deck for it.

research // development and odds and ends just became a lot more fun to play.
Logged

Yes,Tarmogoyf is probably better than Chameleon Colossus, but comparing it to Tarmogoyf is like comparing your girlfriend to Carmen Electra - one's versatile and reliable, the other's just big and cheap.(And you'd run both if you could get away with)
Gandalf_The_White_1
Basic User
**
Posts: 606



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2006, 02:15:30 pm »

Rules:
505.5. Effects that ask for a particular characteristic of a split card while it's in a zone other than the stack get two answers (one for each of the split card's two halves).

So how would it work if you flip a split card to Dark Confident?  Would the life loss be the sum of the two converted mana costs?
Logged

Quote from: The Atog Lord link
We have rather cyclic discussion, and I fully believe that someone so inclined could create a rather accurate computer program which could do a fine job impersonating any of us.
parallax
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2006, 02:32:59 pm »

Yes. You would lose life for both halves.
Logged

How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
diopter
I voted for Smmenen!
Basic User
**
Posts: 1049


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2006, 01:00:03 pm »

I wonder if you could tap the Scepter, put a copy of Research onto the stack, and when it resolves, take the physical card Research that was imprinted on Scepter? What would happen?
Logged
The Witch-King
Basic User
**
Posts: 14



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2006, 01:15:47 pm »

You would be able to do this i guess. But if I'm correct you can't use your scepter after that anymore because it has 'lost' it's imprinted card. I'm almost sure about this, because something like this came up with wishing for a sceptered card, but please correct me if I'm wrong.
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2006, 06:42:48 pm »

Quote
Just because you get the card back doesn't mean it is no longer imprinted.
This is perfectly wrong. That is EXACTLY what it means. When cards change zones, they are treated as new cards, and when an imprinted card leaves the RFG zone, Scepter loses track of it, and no longer has an imprinted card.

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=magic/faq/mirrodin

Scroll down to Chrome Mox:

"If an imprinted card is returned to the game (with a Wish from the Judgment set, for example), the imprint ability loses track of it and that card is no longer imprinted."
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
nietzsche
Basic User
**
Posts: 378


Team PRT: The Jesus

yawgmoth_heeeroyuki
View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2006, 05:33:28 pm »

Quote
Just because you get the card back doesn't mean it is no longer imprinted.
This is perfectly wrong. That is EXACTLY what it means. When cards change zones, they are treated as new cards, and when an imprinted card leaves the RFG zone, Scepter loses track of it, and no longer has an imprinted card.

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=magic/faq/mirrodin

Scroll down to Chrome Mox:

"If an imprinted card is returned to the game (with a Wish from the Judgment set, for example), the imprint ability loses track of it and that card is no longer imprinted."

My mistake, i had been informed otherwise by a friend of mine who i assumed knew the rules better then me, and my above post has been deleted accordingly.
Logged

If I wasn't me, I would wish I was.

I think the lesson here is never listen to your friends, always listen to me.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2006, 09:25:37 pm »

I think the lesson here is: never listen to your friends, always listen to me. Very Happy
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
nietzsche
Basic User
**
Posts: 378


Team PRT: The Jesus

yawgmoth_heeeroyuki
View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2006, 09:33:45 pm »

I think the lesson here is: never listen to your friends, always listen to me. Very Happy
Lesson 1 in "Matts rules to live by"?
Logged

If I wasn't me, I would wish I was.

I think the lesson here is never listen to your friends, always listen to me.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.193 seconds with 20 queries.