TheManaDrain.com
October 12, 2025, 04:12:50 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MisD and it's targets.  (Read 1469 times)
zulander
Basic User
**
Posts: 197


Insert Personal Text Here:

FarvaZ
View Profile Email
« on: August 06, 2006, 11:44:12 am »

Is Misdirection capable of re-targeting activated abilities?
Example: My opponent has Mindslaver in play and activates it. Am I allowed to use Misdirection to re-target the target player from me to him?

Edit: Sorry, forgot to read the sticky, here are the oracle texts.

Mindslaver: 4 Mana, Tap, Sacrifice Mindslaver: You control target player's next turn. (You see all cards that player could see and make all decisions for the player. He or she doesn't lose life because of mana burn.)

Misdirection: You may remove a blue card in your hand from the game rather than pay Misdirection's mana cost.

Change the target of target spell with a single target.
Logged

Blake-
Basic User
**
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2006, 12:00:12 pm »

The Mindslaver activation is not a spell so no.
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2006, 12:07:44 pm »

Abilities are not spells, even though they use the stack. Look at something like Willbender, which can redirect either spells OR abilities, for a comparison.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
zulander
Basic User
**
Posts: 197


Insert Personal Text Here:

FarvaZ
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2006, 12:12:44 pm »

Thanks for the clarification!
Logged

chrissss
Basic User
**
Posts: 418


Just be yourself


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2006, 04:53:53 am »

Can you misdirect a counterspells target to itself somehow?

lets say, you play a brainstorm, and your opponent counters it, and you have a misdirection, can you do something to change its target?

Logged

Yes,Tarmogoyf is probably better than Chameleon Colossus, but comparing it to Tarmogoyf is like comparing your girlfriend to Carmen Electra - one's versatile and reliable, the other's just big and cheap.(And you'd run both if you could get away with)
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2006, 05:24:26 am »

You cannot Misdirect a Counterspell to itself. A spell cannot target itself, rules say so.

You can Misdirect the Counterspell to the Misdirection. When the Misdirection is resolving, it is still on the stack so it is a valid Counterspell target. The Counterspell will be countered upon resolution.
Logged
chrissss
Basic User
**
Posts: 418


Just be yourself


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2006, 08:33:20 am »

yes, thats what I thought. So I can use a misdirection to "counter" another counterspell. Thats good.
Logged

Yes,Tarmogoyf is probably better than Chameleon Colossus, but comparing it to Tarmogoyf is like comparing your girlfriend to Carmen Electra - one's versatile and reliable, the other's just big and cheap.(And you'd run both if you could get away with)
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2006, 11:25:52 am »

yes, thats what I thought. So I can use a misdirection to "counter" another counterspell. Thats good.
It can even counter Last Word.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.036 seconds with 19 queries.