TheManaDrain.com
September 28, 2025, 10:43:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Split Second and priority  (Read 1668 times)
meatpipeline
Basic User
**
Posts: 16


View Profile
« on: September 25, 2006, 10:11:40 pm »

From the Comprehensive Rulebook:

408.1c The active player gets priority at the beginning of most phases and steps, after any game
actions are dealt with and abilities that trigger at the beginning of that phase or step go on the
stack. No player gets priority during the untap step and players usually don’t get priority during
the cleanup step (see rule 314.3). The player with priority may play a spell or ability, take a
special action, or pass. If he or she plays a spell or ability, or takes a special action, the player
again receives priority; otherwise, the next player in turn order receives priority. If all players
pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the
top object on the stack resolves, then the active player receives priority. If the stack is empty
when all players pass in succession, the phase or step ends and the next one begins.


Am I correct in saying that I can cast a spell x, retain priority, and cast a split second spell... effectively making spell x uncounterable?  Could I also cast spell x, retain priority, instant y, retain priority, and cast a split second spell making x and y uncounterable?




Thanks,

Phil
Logged
Gandalf_The_White_1
Basic User
**
Posts: 606



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2006, 10:29:33 pm »

From the Comprehensive Rulebook:

408.1c The active player gets priority at the beginning of most phases and steps, after any game
actions are dealt with and abilities that trigger at the beginning of that phase or step go on the
stack. No player gets priority during the untap step and players usually don’t get priority during
the cleanup step (see rule 314.3). The player with priority may play a spell or ability, take a
special action, or pass. If he or she plays a spell or ability, or takes a special action, the player
again receives priority; otherwise, the next player in turn order receives priority. If all players
pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the
top object on the stack resolves, then the active player receives priority. If the stack is empty
when all players pass in succession, the phase or step ends and the next one begins.


Am I correct in saying that I can cast a spell x, retain priority, and cast a split second spell... effectively making spell x uncounterable?  Could I also cast spell x, retain priority, instant y, retain priority, and cast a split second spell making x and y uncounterable?




Thanks,

Phil

You can cast something and then cast a split second spell in response before passing priority, however the split seconds spell wiill resolve first, and after it has resolved your opponent will be free to respond to your original spell(s), and thus can still counter it if they want to (split second only works while the spell with split second remains on the stacK).
Logged

Quote from: The Atog Lord link
We have rather cyclic discussion, and I fully believe that someone so inclined could create a rather accurate computer program which could do a fine job impersonating any of us.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2006, 11:17:06 am »

If there was some way of putting the split second card below the other spell on the stack, then this would work. There might be such a way but I do not know of it.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
diopter
I voted for Smmenen!
Basic User
**
Posts: 1049


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2006, 11:20:17 am »

If I'm not mistaken, you can make Morph triggers uncounterable by Stifle/Trickbind this way, can you not?
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2006, 11:25:48 am »

You can pay morph costs with a Split Second card on the stack, but they were already uncounterable since they are a special action and don't use the stack.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
diopter
I voted for Smmenen!
Basic User
**
Posts: 1049


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2006, 11:35:00 am »

Oops, sorry. I meant the "when ~this~ is turned face up" triggers, which I always thought were counterable.
Logged
Komatteru
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 783

Joseiteki


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2006, 11:44:35 am »

Morph doesn't use the stack, so it can't be Stifled.  You can Stifle any "When this is turned face up..." trigger.  However, it is correct that if you can get something to trigger while a Split Second spell is on the stack, then your opponent will not be able to Stifle that trigger.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.031 seconds with 18 queries.