TheManaDrain.com
December 31, 2025, 06:34:16 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Attacking with Mysterious Morph and responses.  (Read 1814 times)
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« on: March 08, 2007, 01:27:10 am »

Player A attacks with a mysterious morph creature, Player B has no blockers, just cards in hand to bluff with (I would almost assume lands in hand, but Player A doesn't know that).  An argument ensues over when creatures can get morphed, effects trigger, responses are allowed, etc. Player A and Player B turn to me to settle the matter.

I THINK that Player B's intent was to take 2 generic combat damage to face, but if the creature got unmorphed, Player B would try to respond before combat damage goes on the stack. (I already talked them through the "Declare Blockers" step when no blockers are present.)

My question: if mysterious morph creature swings, opponent declares no blockers, then I assume attacting player has priority, and has to pass it back to defending player at least once after the "post- declare blockers step".  If defending player does nothing at this point (because he/she is willing to eat 2 generic combat damage and creature is currently unmorphed)...

1)  does 2 combat damage go immediately on the stack?

2)  Can attacking Player now say "combat damage is going on stack, let me unmorph this mysterious morph creature here...flipping morph's doesn't use the stack, you know? No response for you!"?

3)  Can attacking player let 2 damage go on stack and say HA!!!! That morph was PHAGE BIATCH! Got Stifle? Platz? (assuming Illusionary Mask flips follow same basic rules as flipping morphs)

4) Same question as #3, but wit red Akroma Morph guy. (girl)


Thanks in advance, and appologies for vagueness of gamestate.






« Last Edit: March 08, 2007, 04:58:26 pm by LotusHead » Logged

Roxas
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 422


JesusRoxas
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2007, 01:48:43 am »

1) Each player has passed priority in succession, so, yes, you move to the combat damage step and combat damage goes on the stack.

2) Pretty much. Keep in mind, though, that you still must have priority in order to flip over a Morph even though it doesn't use the stack.

3) Yes.

4) Yes.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2007, 01:52:48 am by Roxas » Logged

Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2007, 03:49:03 am »

When the combat damage step starts, combat damage is assigned (and amount of damage locked in) and the 'combat damage' object goes on the stack.  Neither player gets prioirty during the combat damage step until after combat damage has been assigned.

Abilities like Phage's trigger when damage is dealt (combat damage object resolves) and check if the trigger condition is there at that time, so flipping over a Phage while damage is on the stack (flipping over creatures face down due to illusionary mask do use the same timing rules as morph) would result in Phages ability triggering when the damage is dealt (if Phage is in play at that time, of course).



One other thing not exactly asked here, but sort of suggested and often misunderstood bares some explaining.  For a phase/step to end, both players must pass in succession.  Doing anything other than passing would mean the player is not passing.  Even if whatever action they take does not use the stack, they're still taking some action other than to pass.  So, if one player passes then the other player flips up a morph (or plays a land or any other action that doesn't use the stack) the phase/step cannot end until after the first player gets priority again.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2007, 05:07:32 pm by Clariax » Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
OfficeShredder
Basic User
**
Posts: 190


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2007, 02:01:24 pm »

phage's ability would trigger, but in the case of, say, red akroma, only 2 damage would be dealt
Logged
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2007, 05:07:32 pm »

When the combat damage step starts, combat damage is assigned and the 'combat damage' object goes on the stack.  Neither player gets prioirty during the combat damage step until after combat damage has been assigned.

So "untapping your stufff during Untap", "declaring Attackers (and Blockers)" and "Combat Damage goes on the stack, I assign damage like so..." are the few times that no one has priority? The combat damage (and the amount of it whether 2 from morph or 6 from Akroma) is set and assigned at this point?

Abilities like Phage's trigger when damage is dealt (combat damage object resolves) and check if the trigger condition is there at that time, so flipping over a Phage while damage is on the stack (flipping over creatures face down due to illusionary mask do use the same timing rules as morph) would result in Phages ability triggering when the damage is dealt (if Phage is in play at that time, of course).

In original situation, the mysterious morph will deal 2 damage, and only 2 damage if both players pass priority, even if Player A flips morph after damage is on stack? (if Akroma, just 2 to face, if Phage, GG)?



Logged

Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2007, 05:28:55 pm »

Quote
In original situation, the mysterious morph will deal 2 damage, and only 2 damage if both players pass priority, even if Player A flips morph after damage is on stack? (if Akroma, just 2 to face, if Phage, GG)?

The damage equals two in both cases. The difference being that after damage is on the stack, you can still flip Phage. Phage is the one dealing the damage now (the damage came from that permanent, most recent info is used), so a Death star trigger will be put onto the stack once the damage resolves. And indeed -> GG.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.029 seconds with 19 queries.