TheManaDrain.com
December 31, 2025, 06:29:16 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Goblin Sharpshooter Trigger Question  (Read 6144 times)
WilD
Basic User
**
Posts: 42

draconian111@Hotmail.com - ADD ME
View Profile
« on: April 15, 2007, 08:05:09 am »

Take a given game:
My opponent has 100 2/2 squirrel tokens in play (for example). My board consists of a Goblin Sharpshooter. A Wrath is played, is there any way I can get a trigger off all the squirrels, ie. pinging my opponent to death? If so, does it matter who played the WoG?
Thanks for helping.


EDIT: Fixed Title -Z
« Last Edit: April 28, 2007, 08:56:48 am by Zherbus » Logged

Shakespeare made up words, why do they keep saying I can't?
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2007, 08:17:28 am »

I think it is best to answer this question using the "rules addition" on karmic justice

Quote
10/4/2004 If an opponent destroys Karmic Justice, it will trigger on its own destruction.

Applying this to the current situation, burning away the sharpshooters creates a trigger from the sharpshooter. The difference being that this trigger actually does something for karmic justice (costing your opponent a permanent), where it will not deliver for the sharpshooter (untapping an already dead creature is quite difficult I have noticed). Adding 100 squirrel tokens does not add anything, except for adding a lot of triggers that will not do anything upon resolution...

Oh, and if you look at the rules forum rules you will see that it is usually nice to add the rules text from cards to your post.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2007, 08:31:57 am »

Take a given game:
My opponent has 100 2/2 squirrel tokens in play (for example). My board consists of a Goblin Sharpshooter. A Wrath is played, is there any way I can get a trigger off all the squirrels, ie. pinging my opponent to death? If so, does it matter who played the WoG?
Thanks for helping.

Yes, you will create the triggers. No, there is no way you can do the damage with the sharpshooter. When wrath of god resolves ALL creatures are put in the graveyard at the same time. They all see each other going which causes the sharpshooter to trigger 101 times (he sees himself, too).

Just before a player would receive priority, the triggers are put on the stack. None of the sharpshooter triggers actually do anything, because there is no sharpshooter in play to untap. Long story short, by the time you receive priority to do anything, sharpie is in the graveyard.
Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
WilD
Basic User
**
Posts: 42

draconian111@Hotmail.com - ADD ME
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2007, 08:50:26 am »

Doh. Ok, WoG was a bad choice. How about something that just kills all the squirrels? Basically what I was asking was whether all the deaths were put on the stack at the same time, or if I could respond to each one resolving or something.
Logged

Shakespeare made up words, why do they keep saying I can't?
Roxas
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 422


JesusRoxas
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2007, 12:30:33 pm »

Doh. Ok, WoG was a bad choice. How about something that just kills all the squirrels? Basically what I was asking was whether all the deaths were put on the stack at the same time, or if I could respond to each one resolving or something.

Goblin Sharpshooter {2R} |Creature -- Goblin| 1/1. Goblin Sharpshooter doesn't untap during your untap step. / Whenever a creature is put into a graveyard from play, untap Goblin Sharpshooter. / T: Goblin Sharpshooter deals 1 damage to target creature or player. ONS-R [Vin Leg Ext legal.]

"Deaths" don't go on the stack; it's a bunch of "untap Goblin Sharpshooter" triggers that do. As Khahan said, in the case of Wrath of God, those triggers are still all there, but there is no longer a Goblin Sharpshooter to untap so you can't really do anything.

Now, let's say a player casts Perish rather than Wrath of God.

Perish {2B} |Sorcery| Destroy all green creatures. They can't be regenerated. 6E,TE-U [Vin Leg legal.]

After Perish resolves and all of the squirrel tokens hit the yard, the stack will look like this:

untap Goblin Sharpshooter (triggered by the death of token #100)
untap Goblin Sharpshooter (triggered by the death of token #99)
untap Goblin Sharpshooter (triggered by the death of token #98)
...
untap Goblin Sharpshooter (triggered by the death of token #1)

So what you would do is let "untap Goblin Sharpshooter (triggered by the death of token #100)" resolve and untap Goblin Sharpshooter; after it does, each player will again gain priority, giving you an opportunity to tap Goblin Sharpshooter to deal one damage to your opponent. After that resolves, you can repeat this process for each "untap Goblin Sharpshooter" trigger until your opponent loses the game or all of the triggers have resolved.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2007, 12:42:12 pm by Roxas » Logged

WilD
Basic User
**
Posts: 42

draconian111@Hotmail.com - ADD ME
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2007, 06:56:35 pm »

Ok, thanks guys - I appreciate the help with a question I should have known the answer to already. Thanks!
Logged

Shakespeare made up words, why do they keep saying I can't?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.039 seconds with 19 queries.