TheManaDrain.com
November 01, 2025, 04:38:15 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Word of Command & Storm.  (Read 1136 times)
TheOldMan
Basic User
**
Posts: 4


View Profile
« on: July 26, 2007, 09:11:36 pm »

Word of Command   
     
Cost:   BB
Instant 

Rules Text (Oracle):  Look at target opponent's hand and choose a card from it. That player plays that card with his or her own mana, but you make all decisions it calls for. The player is required only to use mana in his or her mana pool and mana that can be drawn from lands. 

Tendrils of Agony   
   
Cost:  2BB
Sorcery 
 
Rules Text (Oracle):  Target player loses 2 life and you gain 2 life.
Storm (When you play this spell, copy it for each spell played before it this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.) 

First of all, I know that WOC is janky, and most likely has no place in Magic anymore. Also, if anyone ever plays it in a tournament, the opponent will likely (and probably should) raise his or her hand and yell "Judge".  Neglecting this, I have always wanted to use this card somehow.  It just seems like it would be fun.

Questions:
1) Dealing with the second part of the WOC first - The player is required only to use mana in his or her mana pool and mana that can be drawn from lands.
Does the mana have to come from only lands.  If someone were to go off in a combo and play dark rits or cabal ritual, etc., does this mana count.  For example, they have 4 floating mana (of the right type) floating in the mana pool, before a sorcery is played.  The card does say " The player is required only to use mana in his or her mana pool and mana that can be drawn from lands."

2) Deals with the first part of WOC - Look at target opponent's hand and choose a card from it. That player plays that card with his or her own mana, but you make all decisions it calls for.

If you were to play WOC before someone has played a sorcery like Tendirls (considering it is legal for the player to play a socrery), do you get to direct the storm effect as well.  Obviously you can direct the original 2 damage to any target player.  WOC does state "That player plays that card with his or her own mana, but YOU make ALL decisions it calls for", and Storm is (When you play this spell, copy it for each spell played before it this turn. you may choose new targets for the copies.) .  It seems to me like you may also get to direct storm spells (the ALL decisons it (the card) calls for", unless I'm missing something. However, I've been known to be wrong before.  If you cant direct the storm effect, why not?

This question is only for this part of the game, not the part where a player has a chance to repsond to WOC. It is common practice to respond to Word of Command by using up any spells or mana you have prior to letting it resolve. Say all he has left in his hand is Tendrils, and they can't use the mana for anything else.

Last question, Empty the Warrens.

Put two 1/1 red Goblin creature tokens into play.  If you play WOC forcing someone to play ETW, would you get the get the tokens?
Logged
parallax
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2007, 10:01:32 pm »

Mana from Dark Rituals and Cabal Rituals that have already been cast is in their mana pool. They must use it.

You don't make any choices for Storm triggers, since they are not part of playing the spell, but a separate triggered ability.

The targeted player is still the one playing the spell, and they own and control that spell as it resolves, so they get their own Empty tokens.
Logged

How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
Hell of a Hat
Basic User
**
Posts: 30


Wasted Wizard.

He11+of+a+Hat
View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2007, 09:07:56 am »

I think the question was more to the effect of, does the player playing Word of Command make decisions for the storm copies, ie. their targets, not their inception.
Logged

Team Junkbox: two dudes with our junk in a box.
Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2007, 03:11:09 pm »

Decisions on whether or not to change targets for copies created by storm, and if so what to change them to, are decisions associated with the storm trigger.  These decisions are in no way associated with playing the spell.
Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.033 seconds with 19 queries.