TheManaDrain.com
September 29, 2025, 08:56:41 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Tapping, Priority and Attacking  (Read 1006 times)
mattdeballer
Basic User
**
Posts: 25


View Profile Email
« on: August 25, 2007, 09:49:07 pm »

We are in the middle of a 10th edition draft and a strange situation has popped up. The active player has a tapped colossus of sardia(without summoning sickness) and an active puppeteer. His opponent has an active Loxodon Mystic. The game proceded as follows.

The active player declared entry into the combat phase. His opponent allowed him to enter the phase. The active player then tried to use his puppeteer to untap his colossus and with priority, declare an attack with the colossus.

What I would like to know is what the required to declare a creature as an attacker. Would the active player be able to untap his colossus and attack with priority, or would his opponent be able to tap it in resposnse?
« Last Edit: August 27, 2007, 04:48:31 am by Clariax » Logged
Anusien
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3669


Anusien
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2007, 10:53:59 pm »

You cannot end a phase or step without all players passing priority in succession on an empty stack.  In otherwords, untapping the Colossus is fine, but before you can end the step and go to declare attackers, the opponent has to get a chance to tap it.

Declaring attackers does not take priority.  It happens automatically as a game action (does not use the stack, cannot be responded to) at the beginning of the Declare Attackers Step.  Since you were in the Beginning of Combat Step, you have to get out of that step before attackers can be declared.
Logged

Magic Level 3 Judge
Southern USA Regional Coordinator

Quote from: H.L. Mencken
The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.
mattdeballer
Basic User
**
Posts: 25


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2007, 12:58:54 am »

Sorry. I guess I was not clear enough. The active player was attempting to untap his colossus during his declare attackers step, and then attack with it. Is this a valid move?
Logged
LordHomerCat
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1397

Lord+Homer+Cat
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2007, 01:12:32 am »

Negative.

The Steps of the turn (abridged)

Main Phase:
   First Main Phase

Combat Steps:
   Beginning of Combat
   Declare Attackers
   Declare Blockers
   Combat Damage
   etc. etc.

Players receive priority during each of these, and the game only moves to the next step when both players pass in succession with an empty stack.  The Declare Attackers and Declare Blockers steps have special actions.  That is, at the beginning of each step, before either player receives priority, Attackers are declared (or blockers as the case may be).  In order to attack with his Colossus, it MUST be untapped BEFORE he enters the Declare Attackers step.  He can try and do this during the Beginning of Combat step, but since his opponent must receive priority before they move to Declare Attackers, his opponent can then re-tap it.  So, there is no way for him to sneak in an untap and not allow his opponent a chance to respond first.
Logged

Team Meandeck

Team Serious

Quote from: spider
LordHomerCat is just mean, and isnt really justifying his statements very well, is he?
mattdeballer
Basic User
**
Posts: 25


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2007, 09:44:00 pm »

Thank you very much. That is how I assumed it worked, but what never sure.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.052 seconds with 19 queries.