TheManaDrain.com
September 27, 2025, 10:10:42 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Damage from an unsummoned lifelink creature  (Read 1871 times)
kirbysdl
Basic User
**
Posts: 19


View Profile WWW
« on: September 28, 2007, 11:36:04 am »

It's not clear from the comprehensive rules what happens when you place damage from a Lifelink creature on the stack then bounce the creature.  Does the former controller of the Lifelink creature still gain life when the damage resolves?  Thanks!
Logged
parallax
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2007, 12:06:43 pm »

The lifelink can only trigger if the creature is in play when the damage resolves.
Logged

How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
kirbysdl
Basic User
**
Posts: 19


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2007, 12:58:21 am »

Ok, that seems to make sense, but why does this work?

Quote
A Wolf's deathtouch ability will trigger if both Wren's Run Packmaster and that Wolf are in play at the time the Wolf deals damage. The deathtouch ability will then destroy the creature dealt damage by the Wolf even if the Wolf or Wren's Run Packmaster leaves play before the ability resolves.

Quoted from http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/daily/tf53

They seem like similar ideas... a triggered ability is tied to damage.  Obviously the damage has to go on the stack and eventually resolve, but when it does, either all such abilities should take effect if the damage-dealer isn't in play, or they shouldn't.  Otherwise, this game just got a lot more confusing.  Confused
Logged
parallax
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2007, 02:10:47 am »

If the lifelink creature is in play when damage resolves, then Unsummoned with the lifelink trigger on the stack, you will still gain life. Both the lifelink creature and the creature being dealt damage must be in play when damage resolves, but not necessarily when the triggered ability resolves.
Logged

How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
kirbysdl
Basic User
**
Posts: 19


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2007, 09:34:05 am »

Ah, I see.  In the end, I guess there's no way to block a Craw Wurm with a Wren's Run Vanquisher, then bounce the Vanquisher and expect the Craw Wurm to die from Deathtouch, right?  Only after damage resolves does the Deathtouch get put on the stack, but then the Elf is already dead from the 6 damage.
Logged
andrewpate
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 483


EarlCobble
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2007, 10:31:57 pm »

That's correct, but note that most creatures, historically, with this sort of ability do not actually have deathtouch, but rather a variation of Thicket Basilisk's ability.  It, or Deathgazer, or any one of several other creatures printed prior to Future Sight will allow you to perform the exact trick you describe.  It's important to check the Oracle text of the card in question.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.026 seconds with 18 queries.