TheManaDrain.com
September 06, 2025, 08:53:18 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Suspend and Teferi...  (Read 2709 times)
GUnit
Basic User
**
Posts: 169


thingstuff@hotmail.com
View Profile Email
« on: November 21, 2007, 03:34:08 pm »

OK, just one question now:

If I have Teferi in play, can I suspend a creature card during my opponent's turn?
« Last Edit: November 21, 2007, 04:03:34 pm by GUnit » Logged

-G UNIT

AKA Thingstuff, Frenetic
Roxas
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 422


JesusRoxas
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2007, 05:05:29 pm »

Short answer: yes.

Long answer:

Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir {2UUU} |Legendary Creature -- Human Wizard| 3/4. Flash / Creature cards you own that aren't in play have flash. / Each opponent can play spells only any time he or she could play a sorcery.

502.59a. Suspend is a keyword that represents three abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with suspend is in a player's hand. The second and third are triggered abilities that function in the removed-from-the-game zone. "Suspend N-[cost]" means "If you could play this card from your hand, you may pay [cost] and remove it from the game with N time counters on it. This action doesn't use the stack," and "At the beginning of your upkeep, if this card is suspended, remove a time counter from it," and "When the last time counter is removed from this card, if it's removed from the game, play it without paying its mana cost if able. If you can't, it remains removed from the game. If you play a creature spell this way, it gains haste until you lose control of the spell or the permanent it becomes.

Since you can suspend cards whenever you are able to play those cards, and Teferi allows you to play creatures whenever you may play an instant, you may suspend creatures any time you may play an instant.
Logged

Arsenal
Basic User
**
Posts: 31


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2007, 02:59:17 pm »

Can you alternately Stifle a Suspend card?  I'm still unclear.  If I wanted to Stifle the 2nd triggered part of a Suspended card, then it would remain in the RFG zone forever, doing nothing.  That's what I want to happen.  But can Stifle even target an ability that's in the RFG zone?
Logged
Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2007, 03:41:55 pm »

The card is in the RFG zone.  The ability is on the stack.  Stifle targets the ability, on the stack, not the card.

The triggered abilities associated with suspend are legal targets for Stifle, yes.  If the "play this" trigger is countered, then the RFG'd card doesn't get played.  It now has no time counters on it, so it's not suspended anymore, it just stays there in the RFG zone. 

Can you alternately Stifle a Suspend card?  I'm still unclear.  If I wanted to Stifle the 2nd triggered part of a Suspended card, then it would remain in the RFG zone forever, doing nothing.  That's what I want to happen.  But can Stifle even target an ability that's in the RFG zone?
Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
Arsenal
Basic User
**
Posts: 31


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2007, 04:03:39 pm »

So... I can Stifle my opponent's Ancestral Vision at the correct moment, and he gets nothing?
Logged
Anusien
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3669


Anusien
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2007, 01:21:58 am »

So... I can Stifle my opponent's Ancestral Vision at the correct moment, and he gets nothing?
You can Stifle the "play this card" trigger and the card stays RFG, yes.
Logged

Magic Level 3 Judge
Southern USA Regional Coordinator

Quote from: H.L. Mencken
The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.03 seconds with 20 queries.