TheManaDrain.com
September 27, 2025, 05:42:42 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and Blood Moon Question.  (Read 5079 times)
aosquirrels
Basic User
**
Posts: 218


Nuts to you!


View Profile Email
« on: July 13, 2008, 06:03:12 pm »

What can my non-basic lands produce when both Blood Moon (or Magus of the Moon) and Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth are in play at the same time?  I get "hmmm" when I ask this at my store.  Does it matter the order that the come into play? 

Help me Obi-Wan...you're my only hope.   Mr. Green
Logged

No one has ever won a game of Magic by scooping.
SadPanda
Basic User
**
Posts: 12


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2008, 06:21:34 pm »

Quote
418.5c An effect is said to “depend on” another if (a) it’s applied in the same layer (and, if applicable, sublayer) as the other effect (see rule 418.5a); (b) applying the other would change the text or the existence of the first effect, what it applies to, or what it does to any of the things it applies to; and (c) neither effect is from a characteristic-defining ability. Otherwise, the effect is considered to be independent of the other effect.

418.5d An effect dependent on one or more other effects waits to apply until just after all of those effects have been applied. If multiple dependent effects would apply simultaneously in this way, they’re applied in “timestamp order” relative to each other. If several dependent effects form a dependency loop, then this rule is ignored and the effects in the dependency loop are applied in timestamp order.

Urborg doesn't apply its ability until the Blood Moon/Magus applies, and as such it's effect is negated. Basically, Magus/Moon > Urborg in all instances, since the Urborg is dependent on Blood Moon, the moon effect would have to be removed in order for it to function as normal.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2008, 01:52:08 am by SadPanda » Logged
Prism
Basic User
**
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2008, 02:52:10 am »

From Gatherer:

1.4.2008 If Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and either Blood Moon or Magus of the Moon are in play, all nonbasic lands will be Mountains, not Swamps. Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth will be a Mountain as well. It will have "{T}: Add R to your mana pool" and no other abilities.
Logged

Quote from: Yttric Ventus
Sadly, not everyone has access to duals. Sui can be budgetized (no Sinkhole.).
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.037 seconds with 19 queries.