TheManaDrain.com
December 22, 2025, 03:16:10 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: The use of faerie macabre  (Read 3893 times)
elmarfud
Basic User
**
Posts: 16


What? No. We can't stop here. This is bat country.


View Profile Email
« on: August 04, 2008, 03:56:54 am »

I've been playing full english breakfast for a month now and I have a small, but rather important problem.
I play 3 faerie macabres main and I was wondering if you could use the faerie's ability to remove itself from your graveyard.

for example:

I have a volrath's shapeshifter in play.

my graveyard:

1. dreadnought
2. mox ruby

In this situation, my shapeshifter would simply be a 0/1 because the top card is a mox. Can I discard faerie macabre to remove itself and the mox so my shapeshifter would become a dreadnought?

Thanks in advance

Elmar fud
Logged
Eddie
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 361


Mr. Monster

Lord_Kwakkie@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2008, 07:27:06 am »

No, cause it is still in your hand when selecting targets.

Quote from: SCG ask the judge
Q: Faerie Macabre's ability indicates that you discard it to remove two cards from a graveyard. Is it possible to use the ability to remove another card and itself?

A: No. When you play this ability, the card has not yet left your hand when you choose the targeted cards in a graveyard. When you play a spell or ability, you choose all targets before you pay any costs. Keep in mind that you can target up to two target cards, so you can choose to target zero or one cards in a graveyard. Also, these two cards do not have to be in the same graveyard.
Logged

No room in the house exceeds a length of twenty-five feet, let alone fifty feet, let alone fifty-six and a half feet, and yet Chad and Daisy's voices are echoing, each call responding with an entirely separate answer. In the living room, Navidson discovers the echoes emanating from a dark, doorless hallway which has appeared out of nowhere in the west wall.

House of Leaves - Danielewski
elmarfud
Basic User
**
Posts: 16


What? No. We can't stop here. This is bat country.


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2008, 08:08:23 am »

I thought it was possible, because the discarding is part of the cost. You also have to pay 2 life with a vampiric tutor or sacrifice an artifact with tinker before you can search your library. Since discarding comes first, I assumed the faerie was already in the graveyard and could be a legal target for it's own ability ...

elmar fud
Logged
Harlequin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1860


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2008, 08:20:52 am »

Annouce spell/ability
Declare targets (and mode)
Calculate and lock costs
Pay Cost
Put on stack
-Priority-
Then -> make "choices" durring resolution.

Above is a basic summary of the steps for playing and paying for abilites.  Looking a spell like Thrive or an ability like Candlabra of Twanos, the number of targets is critical information to calculating the cost of the ability. 

This also explanes why you can:
- Have wasteland destroy itself
- Have Mog fanatic shoot itself
- Cast Rack and Rune if only your lotus and 1 other artifact is in play, and then use Lotus to pay for RnR. 
Logged

Member of Team ~ R&D ~
Nefarias
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 932


NefariasAndy
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2008, 11:00:34 am »

I thought it was possible, because the discarding is part of the cost. You also have to pay 2 life with a vampiric tutor or sacrifice an artifact with tinker before you can search your library.

Just wanted to note that while you are correct about Tinker, Vampiric Tutor's life loss is actually an effect of the spell, not part of the cost. So if Tinker is countered the artifact is still sacrificed, whereas if VT is countered you don't lose the life.

Oracle:
Search your library for a card, then shuffle your library and put that card on top of it. You lose 2 life.
Logged

Team GG's

Quote from: Young Jeezy
This will be the realest shit you ever quote
Dante
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1415


Netdecking better than you since newsgroup days

wdicks23
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2008, 09:38:08 pm »

I thought it was possible, because the discarding is part of the cost. You also have to pay 2 life with a vampiric tutor or sacrifice an artifact with tinker before you can search your library.

Just wanted to note that while you are correct about Tinker, Vampiric Tutor's life loss is actually an effect of the spell, not part of the cost. So if Tinker is countered the artifact is still sacrificed, whereas if VT is countered you don't lose the life.

Oracle:
Search your library for a card, then shuffle your library and put that card on top of it. You lose 2 life.

For those who weren't aware, the original wording of VT was different (check out a Visions VT), but was errata'd and changed in later printings to the wording mentioned above.  That's why many are confused by it.  Good example to always check the Oracle text, especially on older cards.
Logged

Team Laptop

I hate people.  Yes, that includes you.
I'm bringing sexy back
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.045 seconds with 17 queries.