TheManaDrain.com
September 07, 2025, 10:02:57 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Oracle Updates: You can now Stifle Gilded Drake  (Read 5832 times)
Troy_Costisick
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1804


View Profile WWW Email
« on: January 29, 2009, 02:16:07 pm »

Heya,

Mark Mark Gottlieb just released a new set of oracle updates: http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/23c&page=2

None of them are all that interesting except for Gilded Drake which now reads:

Flying
When Gilded Drake comes into play, exchange control of Gilded Drake and up to one target creature an opponent controls. If you don't make an exchange, sacrifice Gilded Drake. This ability can't be countered except by spells and abilities. (This effect doesn't end at end of turn.)


Let's hear it for more powerlevel errata roll-back!

Peace,

-Troy
Logged

theLastGnu
Basic User
**
Posts: 96


Scrub

theLastGnu
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2009, 05:16:02 pm »

I was looking through the comp rules changes, and I came across this:

410.12
This rule is being created to cover triggered abilities that trigger when a player loses the game. (They trigger when a player concedes and when a judge awards a player a game loss, as well as when a player loses for an in-game reason.)

If I'm reading that right, that means that if you have Lich's Mirror in play and a judge assigns you a game loss for whatever reason, that you just shuffle them up and draw a new grip, right?
Logged
andrewpate
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 483


EarlCobble
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 08:14:34 pm »

I was looking through the comp rules changes, and I came across this:

410.12
This rule is being created to cover triggered abilities that trigger when a player loses the game. (They trigger when a player concedes and when a judge awards a player a game loss, as well as when a player loses for an in-game reason.)

If I'm reading that right, that means that if you have Lich's Mirror in play and a judge assigns you a game loss for whatever reason, that you just shuffle them up and draw a new grip, right?

Lich's Mirror has a replacement ability, not a triggered ability.  This rule does not apply to it.
Logged
AmbivalentDuck
Tournament Organizers
Basic User
**
Posts: 2807

Exile Ancestral and turn Tiago sideways.

ambivalentduck ambivalentduck ambivalentduck
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2009, 09:21:21 pm »

I was looking through the comp rules changes, and I came across this:

410.12
This rule is being created to cover triggered abilities that trigger when a player loses the game. (They trigger when a player concedes and when a judge awards a player a game loss, as well as when a player loses for an in-game reason.)

If I'm reading that right, that means that if you have Lich's Mirror in play and a judge assigns you a game loss for whatever reason, that you just shuffle them up and draw a new grip, right?

Um, that would sort of break tournaments as we know them.  It would make Lich's Mirror a one-card combo with cheating your brains out.
Logged

A link to the GitHub project where I store all of my Cockatrice decks.
Team TMD - If you feel that team secrecy is bad for Vintage put this in your signature
Any interest in putting together/maintaining a Github Git project that hosts proven decks of all major archetypes and documents their changes over time?
grahf
Basic User
**
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2009, 11:53:02 pm »

410.12
This rule is being created to cover triggered abilities that trigger when a player loses the game. (They trigger when a player concedes and when a judge awards a player a game loss, as well as when a player loses for an in-game reason.)
[/quote]

It's probably for Blood Tyrant (see Conflux spoilers), which as an effect that triggers "whenever a player loses the game."  It would be relevant in 2-Headed Giant.
Logged
VorpalBunnyDuby
Basic User
**
Posts: 39


rduby13
View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2009, 12:18:45 am »

I'm pretty sure that people thought the same thing when platinum angel came out years ago.
Like, imagine if you could just punch your opponent in the face, judge comes over and says something like sorry bro that dude has plats out Very Happy
Logged
John Jones
Basic User
**
Posts: 223


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2009, 02:43:55 am »

Over at salvation I got restricted for a month for making up rules questions for platnium angel.
Logged

Team You Just Lost
TracerBullet
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 577


TracerBullet1000
View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2009, 01:33:43 pm »

Flying
When Gilded Drake comes into play, exchange control of Gilded Drake and up to one target creature an opponent controls. If you don't make an exchange, sacrifice Gilded Drake. This ability can't be countered except by spells and abilities. (This effect doesn't end at end of turn.)




Anybody else think the wording "This ability can't be countered except by spells and abilities" is janky as shit?  Moreover, this now gives the opponent time to remove the target of exchange after you've declared the target - Relevant if they have more than 1 target and a way to get rid of only 1.
Logged

The room is on fire, and she's fixin' her hair...
Purple Hat
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1100



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2009, 02:26:57 pm »

I'm still trying to figure out what, other than a spell or ability, might counter it.
Logged

"it's brainstorm...how can you not play brainstorm?  You've cast that card right?  and it resolved?" -Pat Chapin

Just moved - Looking for players/groups in North Jersey to sling some cardboard.
Anusien
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3669


Anusien
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2009, 02:54:23 pm »

I'm still trying to figure out what, other than a spell or ability, might counter it.
The game rules because the target becomes illegal?
Logged

Magic Level 3 Judge
Southern USA Regional Coordinator

Quote from: H.L. Mencken
The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.
Troy_Costisick
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1804


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2009, 04:14:40 pm »

I'm still trying to figure out what, other than a spell or ability, might counter it.
The game rules because the target becomes illegal?

Precisely.
Logged

The Atog Lord
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3451


The+Atog+Lord
View Profile
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2009, 04:57:35 pm »

Now you can cast Gilded Drake and just Donate him to your opponent, if I'm reading this correctly. That's certainly not something the original wording allowed.
Logged

The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
neotrophy
Basic User
**
Posts: 54


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2009, 09:32:30 pm »

Now you can cast Gilded Drake and just Donate him to your opponent, if I'm reading this correctly.
If that's the case, could this become a useful card for Oath?
Logged
Wagner
Basic User
**
Posts: 820


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2009, 10:44:33 pm »

Now you can cast Gilded Drake and just Donate him to your opponent, if I'm reading this correctly.
If that's the case, could this become a useful card for Oath?

So you can Oath into Gilded Drake 1/3 of the time? Doesn't seem a winner to me, just play Sleeper Agent instead.

Quote
Now you can cast Gilded Drake and just Donate him to your opponent, if I'm reading this correctly. That's certainly not something the original wording allowed.

The way I'm reading it, if you don't make an exchange, it dies, so if your opponent has no creature, it won't stay alive.

From the explanation:

1) When Gilded Drake comes into play, its ability triggers. You must target a creature an opponent controls. If you can't choose a legal target, any other ability simply wouldn't go on the stack. In this case, however, you must sacrifice Gilded Drake.

I'm guessing the "up to one creature" part is there just so the ability goes on the stack even with no legal target.
Logged
The Atog Lord
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3451


The+Atog+Lord
View Profile
« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2009, 11:18:39 pm »

Quote
exchange control of Gilded Drake and up to one target creature an opponent controls.
So I could exchange it with zero creatures my opponent controls.
Of course you couldn't maindeck it in Oath, but you could run it as a sideboard card and run Living Wish.
Logged

The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
Diakonov
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 758


Hey Now


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2009, 10:52:33 am »

Verdant Touch would be another option if you wanted more effects like that.
Logged

VINTAGE CONSOLES
VINTAGE MAGIC
VINTAGE JACKETS

Team Hadley

Wagner
Basic User
**
Posts: 820


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2009, 11:00:44 am »

Quote
exchange control of Gilded Drake and up to one target creature an opponent controls.
So I could exchange it with zero creatures my opponent controls.
Of course you couldn't maindeck it in Oath, but you could run it as a sideboard card and run Living Wish.

Yes, you could, but at that point, the other rule would kick in.

Quote
If you don't make an exchange, sacrifice Gilded Drake.

An exchange is a trade between two things, not between a creature and nothing, so it would get sacrificed. I see it as the same thing as Welder, you have to have both parts for an exchange to take place.
Logged
zeus-online
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1807


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2009, 11:47:15 am »

I fail to see what new applications gilded drake has? Shouldn't this post be in the rules forum unless someone is suggesting a deck with it? (like i dunno, Drake Fish)

/Zeus
Logged

The truth is an elephant described by three blind men.
the boogie man
Basic User
**
Posts: 450



View Profile Email
« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2009, 06:07:41 pm »

I am under the impression that you can not trade, and then stifle the sacrifice trigger? Is this any different than it used to be? Is there a way to steal the creature and keep the drake? I don't think so, but it's worth asking.
Logged

Unrestrict: Gush, Flash, Frantic search, fact or fiction (probably), and burning wish if it doesn't suck now.

this may be the last time you hear the boogie song.
Wagner
Basic User
**
Posts: 820


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: February 01, 2009, 11:34:24 am »

I am under the impression that you can not trade, and then stifle the sacrifice trigger? Is this any different than it used to be? Is there a way to steal the creature and keep the drake? I don't think so, but it's worth asking.

Nop, no way to do that, the only difference is that you can now Stifle the CiPT and keep a 3/3 flying for a low cost of 1UU and 2 cards. Wow!
Logged
saspook
Basic User
**
Posts: 103


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: February 01, 2009, 12:25:58 pm »

I am under the impression that you can not trade, and then stifle the sacrifice trigger? Is this any different than it used to be? Is there a way to steal the creature and keep the drake? I don't think so, but it's worth asking.

Nop, no way to do that, the only difference is that you can now Stifle the CiPT and keep a 3/3 flying for a low cost of 1UU and 2 cards. Wow!

And more importantly for Legacy, you can't use the Drake against Dreadstill as they run stifles.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.058 seconds with 18 queries.