reaperbong
|
 |
« on: February 06, 2009, 09:50:36 am » |
|
Simple and self-explanatory question in the title. But to elaborate and use a specific example, if Darksteel Colossus blocks Phyrexian Dreadnought, can the Nought's controller then stifle DSC's Indestructible ability sending him to the graveyard? Or in essence, is 'Indestructible' an activated or triggered ability? Seems more like a constant to me, rather then something that is turned on and off. This might be really obvious or stupid to some, I just hope not too stupid
|
|
|
Logged
|
Restrict: Chaos Orb
|
|
|
thorme
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2009, 10:28:07 am » |
|
Or in essence, is 'Indestructible' an activated or triggered ability? Seems more like a constant to me, rather then something that is turned on and off.
Your gut is right...it isn't an activated or triggered ability and can't be stifled.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Short Bus Lamenting Hasbro's destruction of the G.I. Joe brand since 2005.
|
|
|
reaperbong
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2009, 10:29:56 am » |
|
sweet! thanks.
I wonder then what is the closest technical term for the 'Indestructible' ability? A 'constant' ability perhaps?
|
|
|
Logged
|
Restrict: Chaos Orb
|
|
|
BC
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2009, 10:43:08 am » |
|
sweet! thanks.
I wonder then what is the closest technical term for the 'Indestructible' ability? A 'constant' ability perhaps?
Static ability
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
IthilanorStPete
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2009, 09:04:55 pm » |
|
Actually, indestructibility itself isn't an ability, it's just...a description, as it were. "Darksteel Colossus is indestructible" is an ability. This is why even when Humility is in play, a Marit Lage token from Dark Depths will still be indestructible.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2785
Team Vacaville
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2009, 03:15:57 am » |
|
Actually, indestructibility itself isn't an ability, it's just...a description, as it were. "Darksteel Colossus is indestructible" is an ability. This is why even when Humility is in play, a Marit Lage token from Dark Depths will still be indestructible.
Invoking Humility requires a Judge's final call, but Humility kinda says "all creatures lose all abilities and become 1/1's" Such a DSC would die to lightning bolt (but be reshufled into library when "would be put into grave" applies...)
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
IthilanorStPete
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2009, 06:44:28 am » |
|
Actually, indestructibility itself isn't an ability, it's just...a description, as it were. "Darksteel Colossus is indestructible" is an ability. This is why even when Humility is in play, a Marit Lage token from Dark Depths will still be indestructible.
Invoking Humility requires a Judge's final call, but Humility kinda says "all creatures lose all abilities and become 1/1's" Such a DSC would die to lightning bolt (but be reshufled into library when "would be put into grave" applies...) A bolt wouldn't destroy the Marit Lage token, though.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Clariax
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2009, 09:18:41 am » |
|
Invoking Humility requires a Judge's final call, but Humility kinda says "all creatures lose all abilities and become 1/1's"
Such a DSC would die to lightning bolt (but be reshufled into library when "would be put into grave" applies...)
In this case the DSC would not be shuffled in. It would go to the graveyard. Humility removes the ability that keeps it from going to the GY along with all its other abilities.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Aaron Cutler DCI L2 Cleveland, Ohio
|
|
|
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2785
Team Vacaville
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2009, 04:49:36 pm » |
|
Invoking Humility requires a Judge's final call, but Humility kinda says "all creatures lose all abilities and become 1/1's"
Such a DSC would die to lightning bolt (but be reshufled into library when "would be put into grave" applies...)
In this case the DSC would not be shuffled in. It would go to the graveyard. Humility removes the ability that keeps it from going to the GY along with all its other abilities. REALLY REALLY REALLY???!!! I was under the impression that the DSC graveyard replacement effect was nigh-unfailiable. I know you are a judge, and as far as TMD is concerned, what you say is law, but I am really shocked at this one.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
IthilanorStPete
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2009, 10:07:44 pm » |
|
Invoking Humility requires a Judge's final call, but Humility kinda says "all creatures lose all abilities and become 1/1's"
Such a DSC would die to lightning bolt (but be reshufled into library when "would be put into grave" applies...)
In this case the DSC would not be shuffled in. It would go to the graveyard. Humility removes the ability that keeps it from going to the GY along with all its other abilities. REALLY REALLY REALLY???!!! I was under the impression that the DSC graveyard replacement effect was nigh-unfailiable. I know you are a judge, and as far as TMD is concerned, what you say is law, but I am really shocked at this one. Yes really.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
   
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2009, 03:09:48 am » |
|
Actually, indestructibility itself isn't an ability, it's just...a description, as it were. "Darksteel Colossus is indestructible" is an ability. This is why even when Humility is in play, a Marit Lage token from Dark Depths will still be indestructible.
Invoking Humility requires a Judge's final call, but Humility kinda says "all creatures lose all abilities and become 1/1's" Such a DSC would die to lightning bolt (but be reshufled into library when "would be put into grave" applies...) A bolt wouldn't destroy the Marit Lage token, though. Can you explain why the Marit Lage token doesn't work the same way as DSC?
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
Clariax
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2009, 04:32:35 am » |
|
Can you explain why the Marit Lage token doesn't work the same way as DSC?
Dark Depths |Legendary Snow Land| Dark Depths comes into play with ten ice counters on it. / 3: Remove an ice counter from Dark Depths. / When Dark Depths has no ice counters on it, sacrifice it. If you do, put an indestructible legendary 20/20 black Avatar creature token with flying named Marit Lage into play.
The only ability the token has is flying. Humility will remove this flying ability. The token will still be indestructible because the ability that creates it says it is indestructible.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Aaron Cutler DCI L2 Cleveland, Ohio
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
   
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2009, 02:26:37 pm » |
|
:/ This is...very counterintuitive.
So basically, the indestructibility of the Marit Lage token is a characteristic-setting ability which is NOT in the "text box" of the token, and therefore can't be removed via Humility effects. Do I have that right?
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
Anusien
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2009, 11:49:14 pm » |
|
It creates it indestructible, the way Elspeth's ultimate ability works. Indestructible is just some characteristic like its color or its type.
It's the same way Snakeform cannot remove the indestructibility granted by Shield of the Oversoul.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Magic Level 3 Judge Southern USA Regional Coordinator The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.
|
|
|
Clariax
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2009, 03:50:54 am » |
|
:/ This is...very counterintuitive.
So basically, the indestructibility of the Marit Lage token is a characteristic-setting ability which is NOT in the "text box" of the token, and therefore can't be removed via Humility effects. Do I have that right?
Part of why it seems counterintuitive is a misunderstanding of what "indestructible" is. "Indestructible" is not an ability at all. It's simply a word. Darksteel Colossus has an ability "Darksteel Colossus is indestructible." This ability can be removed by Humility or anything else that removes abilities. Dark Depths creates a token. It says the token has flying. This means it has the ability "flying." It also says the token is indestructible. As "indestructible" is not an ability, and Dark Depths doesn't say the token has or gains it, it's not granting an ability. As such there's no "indestructible" ability there for humility to remove.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Aaron Cutler DCI L2 Cleveland, Ohio
|
|
|
|