TheManaDrain.com
September 16, 2025, 04:09:44 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mana Drain and Vexing Shusher  (Read 1791 times)
TracerBullet
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 577


TracerBullet1000
View Profile Email
« on: February 20, 2009, 06:06:47 pm »

Pretty simple question, and I think I know the answer-


Player A has a Vexing Shusher in play.  Player A plays a 2cc spell, passes priority.  Player B declares Mana Drain targeting Player A's 2cc spell.  Player A responds by activating Vexing Shusher's ability.


Question: Does Player B get 2 colorless mana in their manapool at the beginning of their next mainphase?

==========
Mana Drain

      Color= Blue    Type= Instant    Cost= UU    LG(U1)
      Text (LG+errata): Counter target spell. At the beginning of your next main phase, add {X} to your mana pool, where X is that spell's converted mana cost. [Oracle 2003/07/01]

==========

Vexing Shusher

      Color= Multi    Type= Creature - Goblin Shaman    Cost= (R/G)(R/G)    SM(R)
      Text (SM): 2/2. ; ~this~ can't be countered. ; {R/G}: Target spell can't be countered by spells or abilities.


I think so, as the second clause in Mana Drain is not predicated on the first.  However, confirmation/correction would be greatly appreciated.


Logged

The room is on fire, and she's fixin' her hair...
LordHomerCat
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1397

Lord+Homer+Cat
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2009, 06:15:33 pm »

Yes sir.  If drain resolves (which it does here), you get some mana.
Logged

Team Meandeck

Team Serious

Quote from: spider
LordHomerCat is just mean, and isnt really justifying his statements very well, is he?
Cyberpunker
Basic User
**
Posts: 608


I just gotta topdeck better than you ^_^.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2009, 01:41:08 pm »

I think you still do get the mana. Vexing Shusher makes the spell uncounterable not untargetible.
Logged

IthilanorStPete
Basic User
**
Posts: 91


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2009, 07:35:50 am »

You'll get the mana.
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2009, 06:25:25 pm »

The Mana Drain still resolves, and attempts to do as much of its effect as possible. The same issue used to come up when playing Undermine, targeting an Obliterate (they still lose 3 life).

Compare to Remand, which requires that the spell actually be countered to return to hand.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2009, 11:34:04 pm »

This question was asked and answered 2 weeks ago and multiple people are still chiming in with the same correct answer that was given the day it was asked.  While helping out is great and all, repeating the same answer over and over doesn't help.
Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.031 seconds with 20 queries.