TheManaDrain.com
October 14, 2025, 05:43:26 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Odds//Ends  (Read 1038 times)
Khorshed
Basic User
**
Posts: 13


View Profile
« on: July 26, 2009, 11:15:04 am »

I'm actually preparing to sell my Magic collection. As I was sorting through the rares, I read Odds//Ends from Dissension. After having spent such an incredible amount of time (and, um, money) on this game, I still feel compelled to get an answer to my question. The part the concerns me is Odds.

"Flip a coin. If it comes up heads, counter target instant or sorcery spell. If it comes up tails, copy that spell and you may choose new targets for the copy." http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=107445&part=Odds

As I read the card, the coin flip takes place before the naming of targets. "Flip a coin. If heads, counter target spell. If tails, duplicate target spell." That is different in meaning, to me, from what I originally thought the card meant. That is, "Choose a target instant or sorcery spell. Flip a coin. If heads, counter that spell. If tails, duplicate that spell." Since I can find no rulings or errata, I thought I'd ask here. Which is correct?
Logged
A_Outcast
Basic User
**
Posts: 126


AOutcastedkid morphreader2true
View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2009, 11:17:34 am »

im quite certain you have to choose your target before you flip the coin.  so if it comes up heads counter it, if its tails copy it. 
Logged

Khorshed
Basic User
**
Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2009, 11:19:00 am »

im quite certain you have to choose your target before you flip the coin.  so if it comes up heads counter it, if its tails copy it. 

Can any judges or mods confirm this?
Logged
Godder
Remington Steele
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3264


"Steele here"

walfootrot@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2009, 03:17:51 pm »

When a spell has targets, they are named when casting the spell (i.e. paying the costs and putting it on the stack), not on resolution.
Logged

Quote from: Remington Steele
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
Khorshed
Basic User
**
Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2009, 04:30:41 pm »

Thanks very much, guys!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.063 seconds with 20 queries.