TheManaDrain.com
December 21, 2025, 07:50:09 am
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News
:
Home
Help
Search
Calendar
Login
Register
TheManaDrain.com
>
Vintage Community Discussion
>
Rules Q&A
(Moderators:
The Atog Lord
,
Godder
,
Demonic Attorney
,
Clariax
) >
Standstill+Stifle
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Author
Topic: Standstill+Stifle (Read 1740 times)
Bera
Basic User
Posts: 159
Standstill+Stifle
«
on:
November 03, 2009, 07:10:06 pm »
Posting here because I've heard mixed resolutions regarding standstill's interaction with stifle.
Player A has a standstill, Player B plays a spell causing standstill to trigger, Player B responds to the trigger with stifle. Am I correct in assuming the stifle will cause another trigger to be put on the stack? Or will standstill have sacrificed itself resulting in standstill being unable to trigger a second time.
Logged
-Ben
MEATROCKET
Basic User
Posts: 50
Re: Standstill+Stifle
«
Reply #1 on:
November 03, 2009, 07:18:53 pm »
You are correct in assuming that player B's Stifle will cause the Standstill to trigger again. The reason is the (very important) "if" clause in Standstill. Only upon resolution of Standstill's trigger is it sacrificed, at which point the players draw cards.
Then the additional triggers will resolve (edit: if there are any - or they may be countered by Stifle, etc.), but won't do anything because Standstill isn't sacrificed.
So yeah, waste of a Stifle
«
Last Edit: November 03, 2009, 08:00:05 pm by MEATROCKET
»
Logged
honestabe
Basic User
Posts: 1113
How many more Unicorns must die???
Re: Standstill+Stifle
«
Reply #2 on:
November 03, 2009, 07:38:35 pm »
This is also tricky with Trickbind, but I'm assuming the sacrafice trigger doesn't use the stack
Logged
Quote
As far as I can tell, the entire Vintage community is based on absolute statements
-Chris Pikula
MEATROCKET
Basic User
Posts: 50
Re: Standstill+Stifle
«
Reply #3 on:
November 03, 2009, 07:58:28 pm »
Standstill triggers whenever a spell is played. On resolution, it is sacrificed, and the players draw cards.
Trickbind is no different than Stifle in this case. With the Standstill trigger on the stack, player B plays Trickbind, targeting Standstill's trigger. Standstill then triggers again, and it's the same case as with Stifle. Standstill will resolve and it will be sacrificed and players will draw cards. Then Trickbind resolves and counters the first Standstill trigger, but that doesn't matter because Standstill was already sacrificed (thus making the first trigger do nothing).
Logged
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage Tournament Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Casual Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Creative
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Rules Q&A
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Miscellaneous
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Card Creation Forum
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage, Type-1 Forum
===> Archived Extreme Vintage Forum
===> Archived Tournament Results Forum
===> Archived Basic User/Newbie Forum
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Rules and Regulations
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> General Community Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Articles and Primers
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=====> Master List
=====> Set In Progress
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Global Vintage Tournament Reports and Results
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Tournament Announcement Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Tournament Announcements
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Other Formats
===> Non-Vintage
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Articles
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Deck Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Archives
=> Adept Chronicles
===> Classic MTGO Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Elder Dragon Highlander Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Northeast U.S.
===> Midwest U.S.
===> Western/Pacific U.S.
===> Southern U.S.
===> Canada
===> Europe
===> Other
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Community Introductions
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Introduction to TMD
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Type 4
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Blue-Based Control
===> Workshop-Based Prison
===> Ritual-Based Combo
===> Null Rod Based Aggro
===> Bazaar-Based Decks
=> General Strategy Discussion
===> Vintage Adept Q&A
===> General Strategy Discussion
=> Eternal Article Discussion
===> Online Tournaments
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Registration for TMD
-----------------------------
Lounges
-----------------------------
===> General Yankee Discussion
Loading...