JR
|
 |
« on: July 16, 2010, 01:29:07 am » |
|
I think the subject basically sums it up. What would the interaction of these two cards be? I'm sure someone with greater knowledge than I will share.
Thanks, JR.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Reflection Team R&D 1000%
|
|
|
Wagner
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2010, 10:34:40 am » |
|
Well, if you have both Teferi and Leyline on your side, your creatures have SUPER FLASH!
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
theLastGnu
Basic User
 
Posts: 96
Scrub
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2010, 12:23:48 pm » |
|
If you're wondering what happens when Player A has a Leyline and Player B has Teferi, it's a much more interesting question.
I believe both effects apply in layer 6 and as such should be determined by timestamp order (i.e. whichever was on the battlefield last will be the last applied, 9 times out of 10 this will be Teferi, given Leyline's start the game nature)
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Clariax
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2010, 12:55:23 pm » |
|
I believe both effects apply in layer 6 and as such should be determined by timestamp order (i.e. whichever was on the battlefield last will be the last applied, 9 times out of 10 this will be Teferi, given Leyline's start the game nature)
This has nothing to do with layers and nothing to do with timestamps, and the two "contradictory" effects do two completely different things. The Leyline tells you when you can cast something, Teferi tells you when you cannot cast something. And any time one effect says you can do something and another effect says you cannot do that same thing, the 'can't' always wins. So if your opponent has Teferi on the battlefield, regardless of whether you have a Leyline of Anticipation, a Vedalken Orrery or whatever else telling you you can play something, you'll still only be able to cast spells when you could cast a sorcery, that is when it's your main phase, you have priority, and the stack is empty.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Aaron Cutler DCI L2 Cleveland, Ohio
|
|
|
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2785
Team Vacaville
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2010, 11:42:38 am » |
|
Speaking of Leyline. Suppose I lose the die roll, and my opponent chooses to play first. Opponnent keeps, and I keep my hand of Leyline of Anticipation, Black Lotus, and other juicy spells.
When is the soonest that I can cast my Black Lotus?
Turn order is usually Untap Upkeep Draw Mainphase Combat Mainphase End Step
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Yare
Zealot
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1215
Playing to win
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2010, 12:06:59 pm » |
|
The first upkeep. Note that you can't do it during the first player's draw step if you wanted to wait for some reason because that player will skip his entire draw step (not just the draw itself) on his first turn.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
TracerBullet
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2010, 04:24:00 am » |
|
I believe both effects apply in layer 6 and as such should be determined by timestamp order (i.e. whichever was on the battlefield last will be the last applied, 9 times out of 10 this will be Teferi, given Leyline's start the game nature)
This has nothing to do with layers and nothing to do with timestamps, and the two "contradictory" effects do two completely different things. The Leyline tells you when you can cast something, Teferi tells you when you cannot cast something. And any time one effect says you can do something and another effect says you cannot do that same thing, the 'can't' always wins. So if your opponent has Teferi on the battlefield, regardless of whether you have a Leyline of Anticipation, a Vedalken Orrery or whatever else telling you you can play something, you'll still only be able to cast spells when you could cast a sorcery, that is when it's your main phase, you have priority, and the stack is empty. Not doubting the ruling, but could you show where you found this? It's helpful to reference when people try and say "nuh uhhh!"
|
|
|
Logged
|
The room is on fire, and she's fixin' her hair...
|
|
|
theLastGnu
Basic User
 
Posts: 96
Scrub
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2010, 01:42:24 pm » |
|
Not doubting the ruling, but could you show where you found this? It's helpful to reference when people try and say "nuh uhhh!"
From the comprehensive rules: When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can't happen, the "can't" effect takes precedence. Example: If one effect reads "You may play an additional land this turn" and another reads "You can't play land cards this turn," the effect that precludes you from playing lands wins.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Yare
Zealot
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1215
Playing to win
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2010, 02:31:57 pm » |
|
How does one define a "can't" effect? Teferi doesn't use the word "can't." "Can . . . only" is evidently enough. Are there are other instances of "can't" effects beyond this / what is the relevant language here to look for?
Check your Bluebook. -DA
Just kidding.
|
|
« Last Edit: July 21, 2010, 06:41:54 pm by Demonic Attorney »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
H
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2010, 01:10:40 pm » |
|
It doesn't need to say 'can't' on the card. I'd understand it as if something limits, it will 'win out' over things removing limitations or the 'normal' method of playing. I think the key word for me is in the example. If something allows and something else precludes, preclusion wins.
|
|
|
Logged
|
"The Ancients teach us that if we can but last, we shall prevail." —Kaysa, Elder Druid of the Juniper Order
|
|
|
Yare
Zealot
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1215
Playing to win
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2010, 01:52:24 pm » |
|
It doesn't need to say 'can't' on the card. I'd understand it as if something limits, it will 'win out' over things removing limitations or the 'normal' method of playing. I think the key word for me is in the example. If something allows and something else precludes, preclusion wins.
How do you distinguish this from Spellbook vs. Recycle. One "permits" you to have an indefinitely large hand size while the other "precludes" having a hand size over a certain size. Yet, that situation uses timestamps, at least as far as I am aware.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Clariax
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2010, 03:10:57 pm » |
|
How do you distinguish this from Spellbook vs. Recycle. One "permits" you to have an indefinitely large hand size while the other "precludes" having a hand size over a certain size. Yet, that situation uses timestamps, at least as far as I am aware.
Neither one of these says you can or cannot do anything. They both make a simple and very direct statement about your maximum hand size.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Aaron Cutler DCI L2 Cleveland, Ohio
|
|
|
Yare
Zealot
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1215
Playing to win
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2010, 03:34:41 pm » |
|
How do you distinguish this from Spellbook vs. Recycle. One "permits" you to have an indefinitely large hand size while the other "precludes" having a hand size over a certain size. Yet, that situation uses timestamps, at least as far as I am aware.
Neither one of these says you can or cannot do anything. They both make a simple and very direct statement about your maximum hand size. So, what are the criteria? Does it have to use some form of "can" or what?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Clariax
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2010, 06:12:01 am » |
|
So, what are the criteria? Does it have to use some form of "can" or what?
The criteria is that the effect has to tell you something can't happen, or you can't do something. "Can only" fits into this. For example, if I were to tell you, "You can only eat between 8 am and 8 pm," it's the same as telling you you can't eat at any other time. Just the same, Teferi saying you can only cast spells at a certain time is the same as telling you you can't cast spells at other times.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Aaron Cutler DCI L2 Cleveland, Ohio
|
|
|
|