TheManaDrain.com
December 13, 2025, 07:17:21 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Several timing questions  (Read 1395 times)
serracollector
Basic User
**
Posts: 1359

serracollector@hotmail.com
View Profile Email
« on: August 10, 2010, 11:49:41 pm »

Sorry I am not very up to date on who gets priority and when, and when priority ends, so the questions:

1)  If I have a Vexing Shusher in play, when and how do (or should) I use his ability?  Do I pay the 1 for his ability as I pay for the spell, and delcare all at once, or do I cast, say "ok?"  then if they counter, I can use his abilty and fizzle their counterspell?

2) Do I get a chance to respond to a spell I have played after my opponents priority.  For example I cast Pyrostatic Pillar, I say "ok?"  passing priority, they say "ok", do I then get priority, and can say "in response I bolt you" so I don't lose 2 life to the bolt?  Or once he says ok, its already in play?

3) Do time walk/time warp effects count up?  say if u time walk, then will and walk again, do you get 3 turns?  the cards say take an extra turn after "this one" so I don't know if they do or not.

4) this is kinda like question 2, but with abilities.  If I cast a spell that says "play the top card of your library for free", and my opponent says "ok" can I use divining top to change my library in response still?

Thanks, sorry if the questions seem n00b, but I just don't know how many times, or when the times are exactly, that I can "respond" to my own spell.  Thanks.
Logged

B/R discussions are not allowed outside of Vintage Issues, and that includes signatures.
theLastGnu
Basic User
**
Posts: 96


Scrub

theLastGnu
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2010, 01:12:21 am »

1) The best use of shusher would be to respond to the counter with its ability, thus nullifying the counter.

2) After you pass priority to your opponent, if he or she chooses to pass priority back without any actions, the spell/ability resolves without you getting another chance to perform any actions.

3) They accumulate.

4) Same as answer 2; once you pass priority to your opponent, unless they respond with something else, you won't get another chance before the ability resolves.
Logged
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1271



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2010, 12:45:30 pm »

I highly recommend reading the Comp Rules (easily found on the WOTC site) to familiarize yourself with the basic priority rules. Once you understand how things fit together, you will be able to figure out the answer to most questions like this on your own. Any unusual situations can always be clarified here, but learning the basics will save you a lot of headache at tournaments or the like.

Here's the chopped down version:
0. Player A casts a spell (or activates an ability) and it goes onto the stack. I'll refer to this as Spell X (even though it includes abilities).
1. Player A gets priority.
2. We'll assume Player A does not respond.
3. Player B now gets priority.
4. We'll assume Player B does not respond.
5. Spell X resolves.

--If either player has priority and responds, this process starts over from # 0. The responding player has just become a "new" Player A, whatever they responded with becomes a "new" Spell X, and you move on through # 1-5 as normal.

--If there is another spell/ability on the stack after # 5, the next spell/ability on the stack becomes Spell X, and you go through # 1-5 as normal, with the active player filling the role of Player A. Note that this is not necessarily the person who controls Spell X.

As I said, this is a simplified version. I'm assuming you're in a duel, not a multiplayer game. This also excludes things like State Based Actions or Triggered Abilities.


Here are your questions answered through the above framework.
Question 1: You cast Tarmogoyf (Spell X). You get priority (# 1), you pass (# 2), they get priority (# 3). They cast Force of Will.

The process restarts, with Force as Spell X and the opponent as Player A. They get priority (# 1), they pass (# 2), you get priority (# 3). You respond with Shusher's ability on Tarmogoyf.

The process restarts with Shusher's ability as Spell X and you as Player A. You get priority, you pass, they get priority, they pass. Shusher's ability (Spell X) resolves.

The next thing on the stack is Force, which becomes the new Spell X. Assuming it's your turn, you are the active player and become Player A. You get priority, you pass, they get priority, they pass. Force resolves. Goyf can't be countered, so while Force resolves, it doesn't accomplish anything.

The next thing on the stack is Goyf, which becomes the new Spell X. As active player, you are Player A. You get priority, you pass, they get priority, they pass. Goyf resolves.

Question 2: You cast Pillar and get priority (# 1). You pass (# 2), they get priority (# 3) and pass back (# 4). Pillar resolves. The easy way to remember this is exactly as theLastGnu put it in answering Question 4. Once you pass priority, you will not get another chance unless someone after you responds (thereby resetting the cycle).

Question 3: Not really a timing question, and I have nothing to add over theLastGnu's response.

Question 4: Agreed, this works like Question 2.
Logged

I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.123 seconds with 20 queries.