TheManaDrain.com
September 06, 2025, 06:15:49 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Null Rod and Mana Abilities (specifically moxen, Sol Ring, and artifact lands)  (Read 8266 times)
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« on: October 04, 2012, 03:37:34 am »

Quote
Q: What happens if I Cremate a land from my opponent's graveyard in response to Deathrite Shaman's first ability?

A: Then the ability is countered entirely, since its only target is gone, and none of its effects happen.

"But Eli," you ask telepathically through time, "isn't that a mana ability?" Nope! One of the rules of mana abilities is that a mana ability can never, ever target. Doing so automatically removes it from the exclusive Mana Ability Club, and it has to use the stack just like other activated abilities.

This appeared at Cranial Insertion (spinoff from MTGSalvation, a weekly rules site).

The bolded part caught my interest, as Null Rod is the bane of my existance (Unless I maindeck it or SB it).

But the whole "mana abilities just kinda happen" thing bothers me compared with "Null Rod says Artifact's Activated Abilities don't happen".

I kinda understand that Deathrite Shaman's abilities all have a cost:effect template (as do artifact lands, etc) and hence an activated ability...but...

In analyzing the bold stuff, what rule says "Targeted stuff that produces mana is not a mana ability" and if an Island becomes a creature, and a few turns later, that white creature that says "Creatures can't use activated abilities" comes into play, can the Island tap for mana?

Is there any chain of logic that would say Null Rod wont affect Sol Ring?

I'm pretty sure the Null Rod thing is "moxen don't work under Null Rod", but I'm not sure why given some of this other stuff. Any help would be appreciated.


Logged

xouman
Basic User
**
Posts: 1082


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2012, 08:17:13 am »

When it says "mana ability does not target" means that tapping a creature/artifact/land for mana do not involve targeting anything. Shaman is targeting a card in a grave, so its abiliy does not have *split second*.

On the other side, null rod is not answering to moxen tapping, just prevents them from being activated. Mana production is not involved at all, it'll came later.
Logged
bactgudz
Basic User
**
Posts: 355



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2012, 11:38:58 am »

Quote
Q: What happens if I Cremate a land from my opponent's graveyard in response to Deathrite Shaman's first ability?

A: Then the ability is countered entirely, since its only target is gone, and none of its effects happen.

"But Eli," you ask telepathically through time, "isn't that a mana ability?" Nope! One of the rules of mana abilities is that a mana ability can never, ever target. Doing so automatically removes it from the exclusive Mana Ability Club, and it has to use the stack just like other activated abilities.

This appeared at Cranial Insertion (spinoff from MTGSalvation, a weekly rules site).

The bolded part caught my interest, as Null Rod is the bane of my existance (Unless I maindeck it or SB it).

But the whole "mana abilities just kinda happen" thing bothers me compared with "Null Rod says Artifact's Activated Abilities don't happen".

I kinda understand that Deathrite Shaman's abilities all have a cost:effect template (as do artifact lands, etc) and hence an activated ability...but...

In analyzing the bold stuff, what rule says "Targeted stuff that produces mana is not a mana ability" and if an Island becomes a creature, and a few turns later, that white creature that says "Creatures can't use activated abilities" comes into play, can the Island tap for mana?

Is there any chain of logic that would say Null Rod wont affect Sol Ring?

I'm pretty sure the Null Rod thing is "moxen don't work under Null Rod", but I'm not sure why given some of this other stuff. Any help would be appreciated.




406. Mana Abilities

    406.1. A mana ability is either (a) an activated ability without a target that could put mana into a player’s mana pool when it resolves or (b) a triggered ability without a target that triggers from a mana ability and could produce additional mana. A mana ability can generate other effects at the same time it produces mana.

Moxen (and island) have a mana ability under (a)...shaman does not fit the definition since it has a target
Logged
The Atog Lord
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3451


The+Atog+Lord
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2012, 11:54:25 am »

It's amusing that Null Rod and Abeyance are both from the same set and have, basically, the same wording. However, Null Rod still stops mana abilities, while Abeyance no longer does.
Logged

The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1271



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2012, 01:38:45 pm »

...and if an Island becomes a creature, and a few turns later, that white creature that says "Creatures can't use activated abilities" comes into play, can the Island tap for mana?
Since nobody has addressed it specifically... No, the Island cannot tap for mana. It works like Moxen under a Null Rod.
Logged

I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2012, 02:40:02 pm »

Thanks for awesome responses guys!

I think I got everything cleared up. Smile
Logged

xouman
Basic User
**
Posts: 1082


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2012, 06:05:39 am »

Since nobody has addressed it specifically... No, the Island cannot tap for mana. It works like Moxen under a Null Rod.

For example, Dryad Arbor with a Damping Matrix in play :p It won't tap for mana, but it could attack.
Logged
Troy_Costisick
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1804


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2012, 08:56:03 am »

It's amusing that Null Rod and Abeyance are both from the same set and have, basically, the same wording. However, Null Rod still stops mana abilities, while Abeyance no longer does.

I hate that too.  Don't forget Cursed Totem is from the same block and it turns off mana abilities too.
Logged

Guli
Basic User
**
Posts: 1763


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2013, 12:56:26 pm »

Since nobody has addressed it specifically... No, the Island cannot tap for mana. It works like Moxen under a Null Rod.

For example, Dryad Arbor with a Damping Matrix in play :p It won't tap for mana, but it could attack.
Dryad Arbor's ability is a mana ability, Damping should not prevent Dryad Arbor from activating for a  {G} mana. Am I missing something?
Logged

Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2013, 04:16:19 pm »

Damping Matrix does not stop Dryad Arbor from being tapped for mana.  Damping Matrix doesn't stop mana abiltiies.
Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
xouman
Basic User
**
Posts: 1082


View Profile Email
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2013, 06:24:54 am »

Oops, sorry. I wrote that too quickly...
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 20 queries.