TheManaDrain.com
December 08, 2025, 09:21:51 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question on Tangle Wire and Smokestack  (Read 5822 times)
marilyn_manson
Basic User
**
Posts: 5


View Profile Email
« on: May 27, 2013, 04:12:38 am »

Say I control both tangle wire and smoke stack (soot counter >1)

Am I right that I can choose: to tap then sac (My turn), or sac then tap (on opponent's turn).

Whereas if say I control wire and my opponent control smokestack. Non Active player ability will resolve 1st (meaning at my turn, I have to sac then Tap)?

Thanks for the help.
Logged
KIP_NZ
Super Cool
Basic User
**
Posts: 96


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2013, 04:31:19 am »

Say I control both tangle wire and smoke stack (soot counter >1)

Am I right that I can choose: to tap then sac (My turn), or sac then tap (on opponent's turn).

Whereas if say I control wire and my opponent control smokestack. Non Active player ability will resolve 1st (meaning at my turn, I have to sac then Tap)?

Thanks for the help.

1) Yes
2) Yes

The Workshop player's mantra is (to quote CHAIN5):
Counter, Sac, Tap, Fade
(this is the order you put them on the stack)
Logged
nedleeds
Tournament Organizers
Basic User
**
Posts: 399


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2014, 11:38:54 am »

I'm not creating a new topic because it's the same rule, however the context is slightly different.

My opponent controls Tangle Wire with some number of counters. I control Dark Confidant. I go to my turn, stare blankly at my opponent with a lack of emotion and point at my Confidant and say "Resolve Confidant trigger?". My opponent says, "Yes.". I reveal the card.

Can they make me back up and resolve their Tangle Wire? This has happened a few times in various forms before and since the trigger policy changes.

Or in the above post, example #2, if I point at Tangle Wire and say "resolve Tangle Wire trigger?" and get a yes.
Logged
WhiteLotus
Basic User
**
Posts: 282


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2014, 07:53:49 pm »

As Active player your triggers go on the stack first then the Non-active player ones go on the stack, since the stack resolves the most recent trigger/spell first the non active player triggers resolve first. So you have to tap your permanents to tangle wire before seeing the card with your bob.
Logged

"Your first mistake was thinking I would let you live long enough to make a second."
Varal
Basic User
**
Posts: 165


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2014, 08:15:32 pm »

At least at competitive REL, it will be considered missed triggers unless the opponent otherwise acknowledged his triggers.

Other cards with frequent upkeep triggers are Delver of Secrets, Mana Crypt and Oath of Druids.

According to the Magic rules WhiteLotus is right but that's not what the Tournament Rules say.
Logged
bactgudz
Basic User
**
Posts: 355



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2014, 08:52:31 pm »

I'm not creating a new topic because it's the same rule, however the context is slightly different.

My opponent controls Tangle Wire with some number of counters. I control Dark Confidant. I go to my turn, stare blankly at my opponent with a lack of emotion and point at my Confidant and say "Resolve Confidant trigger?". My opponent says, "Yes.". I reveal the card.

Can they make me back up and resolve their Tangle Wire? This has happened a few times in various forms before and since the trigger policy changes.

Or in the above post, example #2, if I point at Tangle Wire and say "resolve Tangle Wire trigger?" and get a yes.

Doing exactly what you said sounds fine and I think most judges would call it a missed wire trigger.  However if If you point to bob and say "trigger bob" rather than "resolve bob" (or don't say anything at all)  and then proceed to flip a card when your opponent says "yes" I think things are a bit murky and a judge may make you back up if your opponent addresses the wire on the card flip and simply says he thought you were just putting the trigger on the stack.

Or if you are one of those people (with no bob in play) who just says "upkeep" waits half a second and then tries to draw a card to get a missed wire trigger, that is not ok either.  By explicitly stating "resolve bob" or "move to draw step" and getting the opponent to agree to a specific game state after the wire should have resolved I think you are in the clear.  But doing it just on timing alone is not ok since no priority passes have been explicitly communicated and there is ambiguity in the game state.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2014, 09:05:11 pm by bactgudz » Logged
nedleeds
Tournament Organizers
Basic User
**
Posts: 399


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2014, 10:17:49 pm »

As Active player your triggers go on the stack first then the Non-active player ones go on the stack, since the stack resolves the most recent trigger/spell first the non active player triggers resolve first. So you have to tap your permanents to tangle wire before seeing the card with your bob.

I'm not responsible for your triggers.
Logged
Chubby Rain
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 742



View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2014, 12:15:41 pm »

"Triggered abilities are considered to be forgotten by their controller once they have taken an action past the point
where the triggered ability would have an observable impact on the game. Triggered abilities that are forgotten are
not considered to have gone onto the stack." From the MTG: Tournament Rules

I'm not sure if resolving a Dark Confidant trigger affects this or if it would fall under "out-of-order sequencing". That introduces it's own issue as "an out-of-order sequence must not result in a player prematurely gaining information which could reasonably affect decisions made later in that sequence", where revealing a card with Dark Confidant could definitely influence the choice of which permanents to tap. Hopefully, Clariax can chime in.
Logged

"Why are we making bad decks? I mean, honestly, what is our reason for doing this?"

"Is this a Vintage deck or a Cube deck?" "Is it sad that you have to ask?"

"Is that a draft deck?" "Why do people keep asking that?"

Random conversations...
nedleeds
Tournament Organizers
Basic User
**
Posts: 399


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2014, 04:38:43 pm »

Right. Let's also say I revealed Stifle. If the ruling is to allow out of order sequencing can I use the Stifle?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.102 seconds with 18 queries.