TheManaDrain.com
September 05, 2025, 05:01:57 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Soulbond  (Read 3872 times)
Wagner
Basic User
**
Posts: 820


View Profile
« on: November 02, 2014, 06:25:32 am »

Question about Soulbond.

It reads "Soulbond (You may pair this creature with another unpaired creature when either enters the battlefield. They remain paired for as long as you control both of them.)"

Does that mean I can choose a creature I don't control when it comes into play? Since it says that they only remain paired if I control both of them, does it mean the soulbond will "break" right away, or will they remain paired if I gain control of the second creature later?

For example, I cast Silverblade Paladin, I pair it with my opponent's... Thallid, and the next turn I cast Control Magic on Thallid, will the two creatures have double strike or not?
Logged
H
Basic User
**
Posts: 310



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2014, 08:49:42 am »

It will do nothing if you select a creature you don't control.

Quote
611.2a Some continuous effects generated by the resolution of a spell or ability have durations worded "for as long as...." If the "for as long as" duration never starts, or it ends before the moment the effect would first be applied, the effect does nothing. It doesn’t start and immediately stop again, and it doesn’t last forever.
Logged

"The Ancients teach us that if we can but last, we shall prevail."
—Kaysa, Elder Druid of the Juniper Order
Wagner
Basic User
**
Posts: 820


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2014, 08:07:03 am »

So can there be any benefit to pair with an opponent creature, or does this wording simply allows them to save 2 words in the template by not saying "You may pair this creature with another unpaired creature YOU CONTROL when either enters the battlefield".
Logged
H
Basic User
**
Posts: 310



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2014, 11:01:46 am »

I can't imagine any actual benefit, my guess is just saving words that are really unneeded in the grand scheme of things.
Logged

"The Ancients teach us that if we can but last, we shall prevail."
—Kaysa, Elder Druid of the Juniper Order
boggyb
Basic User
**
Posts: 462



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2014, 11:14:05 am »

You can't Soulbond with an opponent's creature. Soulbond doesn't even trigger off opponent's creatures, owing to an intervening "if" clause. Not when the Soulbond creature enters the battlefield, and not when an opponent's does either.

The reminder text on Soulbond creatures is just an abbreviation. The complete rules text for what "Soulbond" stands for is two triggered abilities:

Quote
"When this creature enters the battlefield, if you control both this creature and another creature and both are unpaired, you may pair this creature with another unpaired creature you control for as long as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control"

and

Quote
"Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, if you control both that creature and this one and both are unpaired, you may pair that creature with this creature for as long as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control."
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.287 seconds with 19 queries.