TheManaDrain.com
September 04, 2025, 12:15:56 pm
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News
:
Home
Help
Search
Calendar
Login
Register
TheManaDrain.com
>
Vintage Community Discussion
>
Rules Q&A
(Moderators:
The Atog Lord
,
Godder
,
Demonic Attorney
,
Clariax
) >
Bestow + Thalia = ?
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Author
Topic: Bestow + Thalia = ? (Read 1964 times)
Norm4eva
Full Members
Basic User
Posts: 1072
Bestow + Thalia = ?
«
on:
December 10, 2014, 09:29:32 am »
I googled around a bit and came across an answer, yes. However, it doesn't seem to jibe with my understanding of how costs are determined in relation to the way Bestow appears to work.
If Thalia, Guardian of Thraben is in play and I attempt to cast Boon Satyr for its Bestow cost, my current thinking is that it doesn't appear to actually become an Aura and lose the Creature type until 601.2g. Once the Bestow cost is paid, it becomes an Aura and per its rules text you're now given the choice of a legal target and so on.
If Bestow actually changes the creature to an Aura as a result of Casting Spells -- 601.2b, then it would affect the cost. If I'm correct in my understanding, though, it doesn't actually happen until 601.2g (during payment), by which point it's too late for modifications.
So, at which point does it actually change types?
Logged
bactgudz
Basic User
Posts: 355
Re: Bestow + Thalia = ?
«
Reply #1 on:
December 10, 2014, 10:57:44 am »
The player announces his/her choice to pay the alternate cost in 601.2b:
"...If the spell has alternative or additional costs that will be paid as it’s being cast such as buyback or kicker costs (see rules 117.8 and 117.9), the player announces his or her intentions to pay any or all of those costs (see rule 601.2e)...
At all points after this, the conditional of bestow's static ability in 702.1a has been satisfied:
"...If you chose to pay this spell’s bestow cost, it becomes an Aura enchantment and gains enchant creature..."
You chose to pay in 601.2b even though you haven't paid yet.
Then when costs are calc'd in 601.2e it is already a non-creature spell.
tldr; You choose to bestow in 601.2b which makes it a non-creature spell from then on. The total cost is determined after that in 601.2e
«
Last Edit: December 10, 2014, 11:02:36 am by bactgudz
»
Logged
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage Tournament Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Casual Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Creative
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Rules Q&A
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Miscellaneous
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Card Creation Forum
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage, Type-1 Forum
===> Archived Extreme Vintage Forum
===> Archived Tournament Results Forum
===> Archived Basic User/Newbie Forum
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Rules and Regulations
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> General Community Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Articles and Primers
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=====> Master List
=====> Set In Progress
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Global Vintage Tournament Reports and Results
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Tournament Announcement Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Tournament Announcements
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Other Formats
===> Non-Vintage
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Articles
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Deck Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Archives
=> Adept Chronicles
===> Classic MTGO Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Elder Dragon Highlander Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Northeast U.S.
===> Midwest U.S.
===> Western/Pacific U.S.
===> Southern U.S.
===> Canada
===> Europe
===> Other
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Community Introductions
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Introduction to TMD
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Type 4
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Blue-Based Control
===> Workshop-Based Prison
===> Ritual-Based Combo
===> Null Rod Based Aggro
===> Bazaar-Based Decks
=> General Strategy Discussion
===> Vintage Adept Q&A
===> General Strategy Discussion
=> Eternal Article Discussion
===> Online Tournaments
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Registration for TMD
-----------------------------
Lounges
-----------------------------
===> General Yankee Discussion
Loading...