TheManaDrain.com
February 25, 2020, 01:23:48 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Old Man of the Sea and Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale  (Read 892 times)
heiner
Basic User
**
Posts: 181


View Profile
« on: May 09, 2015, 02:09:33 pm »

Who is "you" on Tabernacle's card text? The controller?

1.
I have Tabernacle in play and Old Man of the Sea who controls one of opponents creatures. Who needs to pay (and decides) the upkeep cost for the controlled creature?

2.
It is the upkeep of player A's turn. Player a has Tabernacle and one creature in play, Tabernacle's upkeep effect triggers. If now player B, in response to the trigger takes control of the creature with Old Man of the Sea, who is now in control of the trigger and decides whether the upkeep is payed or not?
Logged
bactgudz
Basic User
**
Posts: 355



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2015, 02:32:28 pm »

Who is "you" on Tabernacle's card text? The controller?

1.
I have Tabernacle in play and Old Man of the Sea who controls one of opponents creatures. Who needs to pay (and decides) the upkeep cost for the controlled creature?

2.
It is the upkeep of player A's turn. Player a has Tabernacle and one creature in play, Tabernacle's upkeep effect triggers. If now player B, in response to the trigger takes control of the creature with Old Man of the Sea, who is now in control of the trigger and decides whether the upkeep is payed or not?
There are two relevant facts:
-Tabernacle does not have a triggered ability, Tabernacle gives each creature a triggered ability.  These abilities trigger at the beginning of each creature's controller's upkeep and the ability (and thus the decision to pay) is controlled by the creature's controller when triggered (not owner or Tabernacle controller)
-Tabernacle tells you to destroy the creature, not sacrifice

Answers to your questions [note by the first bullet above, the controller of Tabernacle itself is irrelevant):
1) You do
2) Player A controls the trigger and decides whether or not to pay, if he/she does not, the creature is destroyed (this is where the second bullet above becomes relevant since you may destroy but not sac creatures you don't control)
Logged
heiner
Basic User
**
Posts: 181


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2015, 11:40:16 am »

thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.041 seconds with 19 queries.