TheManaDrain.com
September 10, 2025, 01:45:06 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Playing returning from layoff since c. 2008  (Read 1989 times)
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« on: October 06, 2015, 12:45:38 pm »

Hi all and thanks for  humoring me as I re-acquaint myself with Magic.  I have a few rules etc I'm a bit fuzzy on or would like confirmation on:

1. Oath of druids and planeswalkers - I assume if I have an oath in play and my opponent has a planeswalker in play that is not sufficient to trigger oath. Is this correct?

2. Memory jar: If I activate memory jar during the current turns EoT step, then my opponent and I get to keep those cards thru that step, into the next turn and swap back to the old hand doesn't trigger until the next turns eot step?

3. converted mana cost. On a card like fire/ice I just can't remember: Is the CMC the cost of the spell you cast or the cost of both spells on the card?


That's it for now.

edit: 1 more since no answers have been given yet

4. Platinum angel - I vaguely remember reading about losing the game when this leaves play. Basically Angel is in play, you're library is empty and you can't draw. You are fine. But then your opponent Swords your angel - you lose right there.  The article was something about a broken pencil - the angel doesn't stop the pencil from breaking. It just stops you from losing. Once it leaves play the pencil is still broken. In other words once an event happens its condition is always meant. Does this still hold true?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2015, 12:59:17 pm by Khahan » Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
TheBrassMan
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 692


AndyProbasco
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2015, 01:21:18 pm »

Hi Kahan!, welcome back!

Quote
1. Oath of druids and planeswalkers - I assume if I have an oath in play and my opponent has a planeswalker in play that is not sufficient to trigger oath. Is this correct?
Correct, Planeswalkers and Creatures are different types, and Oath doesn't trigger off Planeswalkers.

Quote
2. Memory jar: If I activate memory jar during the current turns EoT step, then my opponent and I get to keep those cards thru that step, into the next turn and swap back to the old hand doesn't trigger until the next turns eot step?
Correct, you can get the cards in the next turn if you activate it during an end step.

Quote
3. converted mana cost. On a card like fire/ice I just can't remember: Is the CMC the cost of the spell you cast or the cost of both spells on the card?
While it's on the stack, the CMC is just the half you're casting, but in someone's hand/library/graveyard it has TWO converted mana costs - this can get weird, so if you're wondering about a something specific (Counterbalance, Dark Confidant), you might want to ask about each specific interaction you care about.

Quote
4. Platinum angel - I vaguely remember reading about losing the game when this leaves play. Basically Angel is in play, you're library is empty and you can't draw. You are fine. But then your opponent Swords your angel - you lose right there.  The article was something about a broken pencil - the angel doesn't stop the pencil from breaking. It just stops you from losing. Once it leaves play the pencil is still broken. In other words once an event happens its condition is always meant. Does this still hold true?
Yes and no, you might be misremembering that article, or it could have been mistaken. Platinum Angel doesn't stop you from going to 0 or less life. If Platinum Angel dies while you're at 0 or less (or if you have 10 or more Poison counters), you'll lose the game as soon as state-based effects are checked (i.e., before you can do anything about it).

That's different than not having a library. You don't lose the game for not having a library, and the game doesn't remember whether or not you tried to draw cards with a Platinum Angel out. If a Platnium Angel saves you from decking, and then it dies, you don't lose the game immediately - you just have an empty library. However, you WILL lose the game the NEXT time you have to draw a card (which is probably at the beginning of your next turn), which means you have only a short window to do anything (like kill your opponent, or get another Platinum Angel in play).
Logged

Team GGs:  "Be careful what you flash barato, sooner or later we'll bannano"
"Demonic Tutor: it takes you to the Strip Mine Cow."
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2015, 09:41:00 am »


Quote
3. converted mana cost. On a card like fire/ice I just can't remember: Is the CMC the cost of the spell you cast or the cost of both spells on the card?
While it's on the stack, the CMC is just the half you're casting, but in someone's hand/library/graveyard it has TWO converted mana costs - this can get weird, so if you're wondering about a something specific (Counterbalance, Dark Confidant), you might want to ask about each specific interaction you care about.

Thank you. I think as I play test I'll come up with scenarios and may check back on specifics on this one at that time.  But that was a good quick brush up I can use to start with.

Quote
Quote
4. Platinum angel - I vaguely remember reading about losing the game when this leaves play. Basically Angel is in play, you're library is empty and you can't draw. You are fine. But then your opponent Swords your angel - you lose right there.  The article was something about a broken pencil - the angel doesn't stop the pencil from breaking. It just stops you from losing. Once it leaves play the pencil is still broken. In other words once an event happens its condition is always meant. Does this still hold true?
Yes and no, you might be misremembering that article, or it could have been mistaken. Platinum Angel doesn't stop you from going to 0 or less life. If Platinum Angel dies while you're at 0 or less (or if you have 10 or more Poison counters), you'll lose the game as soon as state-based effects are checked (i.e., before you can do anything about it).

That's different than not having a library. You don't lose the game for not having a library, and the game doesn't remember whether or not you tried to draw cards with a Platinum Angel out. If a Platnium Angel saves you from decking, and then it dies, you don't lose the game immediately - you just have an empty library. However, you WILL lose the game the NEXT time you have to draw a card (which is probably at the beginning of your next turn), which means you have only a short window to do anything (like kill your opponent, or get another Platinum Angel in play).

Thank you.  I looked over the comprehensive rules after you posted this (because I couldn't shake that article I am remembering) and saw the the SBE of 'cannot draw a card' specifically says it checks to see if the event has occurred since the last time SBE were checked.  You are right (I wasn't necessarily questioning you - just have a distinct memory of something different). I'm guessing that was a specific change as that's the only sbe with that wording that I saw.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2015, 02:00:42 pm by TheBrassMan » Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2015, 06:29:42 pm »

One other question - If mindslaver gets activated twice in the same turn do I get to control my opponents next 2 turns or just get 2 instances of controlling his next turn? This one I couldn't find in any of the card rulings.

Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
bactgudz
Basic User
**
Posts: 355



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2015, 06:53:41 pm »

One other question - If mindslaver gets activated twice in the same turn do I get to control my opponents next 2 turns or just get 2 instances of controlling his next turn? This one I couldn't find in any of the card rulings.



Assuming you activated mindslaver both times, the second activation is redundant.  If multiple different players activated mindslaver targeting the same player on the same turn, the most recent activation will take precedent.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.287 seconds with 20 queries.