Show Posts
|
Pages: [1]
|
1
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: 3CB #95 Results and Discussion/3CB Tournament #96
|
on: March 01, 2007, 02:06:16 am
|
Because Show and Tell doesn't cause Hypnox to be played from hand (it's put into play, which has a different meaning in Magic), the RFG hand ability won't trigger. For more information, if needed, look into rulings on cards like Elvish Piper, Sneak Attack and Phage (Gatherer, SCG Ask the Judge or our own Rules Forum are good places to start).
Thanks for the explanation 
|
|
|
2
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: 3CB #95 Results and Discussion/3CB Tournament #96
|
on: February 27, 2007, 09:11:28 pm
|
3 (Black Lotus Show and Tell Hypnox) vs 4 (Black Lotus Smallpox The Rack) Current: 0-6 Suggested: 3-3 On the play I get the hypnox into play with show and tell, they can have either a Rack or a Lotus, and then the rest of their hand is removed from play. Hypnox races rack.
vs 8 (City of Traitors Illusionary Mask Phyrexian Dreadnought) Current: 3-3 Suggested: 6-0 On the draw, deck 8 gets COT, Mask on the first turn. I play everything, They can't mask the 'nought into play so they can either put it into play with the show and tell and then sac it to its own CIP ability, or they can hold it and have it removed from the game. Either way is good for me
vs 13 (Mishra's Workshop Scalding Tongs Ensnaring Bridge) Current: 0-6 Suggested: 1-4 On the play they can show and tell for only the Bridge (Tongs and Workshop are then removed from play by hypnox) resulting in a draw.
vs 16 (Sand Silos Darksteel Reactor Energy Field) Current: 0-6 Suggested: 2-2 Should be same result as 11. They can have the Energy Field in to play from the show and tell, but they can't have the energy field and the reactor.
vs 20 (Black Lotus The Rack Balance) Current: 0-6 Suggested: 3-3 On the play they can't use show and tell to cast balance so they can have either the lotus or the rack, with balance and the other card removed from the game. Hypnox races both The Rack or a lonely Black Lotus
|
|
|
11
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: 4CB Tournament #2 Results and Discussion/4CB Tournament #3 Opening
|
on: September 26, 2006, 07:13:51 pm
|
# 101.Ruling.1 - The Leyline cards from Guildpact happen after players are satisfied with their hands, but before the first player takes his or her turn. Each player chooses, in turn order, which Leylines to put into play, then they all reveal their choices simultaneously and put the cards into play simultaneously. These are put into play directly without playing them. They cannot be countered. The player who will be going first determines the timestamp order among Leylines that start the game in play. [Guildpact FAQ 2005/12/22] Given that you have to make your choices in turn order, As the player going second always has perfect knowledge of their opponents hand, they know whether the player going first has put the leyline into play or not. So, the player going second will be able to choose whether to have 1 Leyline starting in play (Play theirs if first player didn't, or hold theirs if first player did), or to nuke them both. Ah, it says that you choose the Leylines in turn order, but you reveal their choices simultaneously. This means that you don't know if your opponent has chosen a Leyline or not. It doesn't say that you choose one and put it aside, showing that you have some Leyline chosen. This means that, since that's the point of the decks, I'd assume both players would choose their own Leyline, then both would reveal and put into play simultaneously, which means they both become Legendary and go to the grave. Why would the order of choices be specified if the cards weren't put aside or in some other way indicated? Surely it would read "Each player chooses which Leylines to put into play, then they all reveal their choices simultaneously and put the cards into play simultaneously." Normally you can't see your opponents hand so the effect is almost the same. The point of specifying the choices in turn order would be to prevent dextrous opponents from getting any advantage.
|
|
|
12
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: 4CB Tournament #2 Results and Discussion/4CB Tournament #3 Opening
|
on: September 24, 2006, 07:51:37 pm
|
# 101.Ruling.1 - The Leyline cards from Guildpact happen after players are satisfied with their hands, but before the first player takes his or her turn. Each player chooses, in turn order, which Leylines to put into play, then they all reveal their choices simultaneously and put the cards into play simultaneously. These are put into play directly without playing them. They cannot be countered. The player who will be going first determines the timestamp order among Leylines that start the game in play. [Guildpact FAQ 2005/12/22] Given that you have to make your choices in turn order, As the player going second always has perfect knowledge of their opponents hand, they know whether the player going first has put the leyline into play or not. So, the player going second will be able to choose whether to have 1 Leyline starting in play (Play theirs if first player didn't, or hold theirs if first player did), or to nuke them both.
|
|
|
18
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: 3CB #80 Results and Discussion (Special format!)
|
on: June 29, 2006, 12:55:33 am
|
9. Naphtali - Bridge-Tongs - Mishra's Workshop, Scalding Tongs, Ensnaring Bridge vs 3. Cross - Fallen Empires was sweet - Scrubland, Icatian Javelineers, Duress
Current: 1-4 Suggested: 3-3
On the play, I drop the Tongs, (he duresses the Bridge) But the Tongs still race the Javelineers On the draw, he takes the Bridge with the Duress and the Javelineers race the Tongs.
9. Naphtali - Bridge-Tongs - Mishra's Workshop, Scalding Tongs, Ensnaring Bridge vs 6. Godder - Down in the Swamp - Bayou, Thallid, Duress
Current: 3-3 Suggested: 1-4
On the play: I can't beat the Thallid with Tongs alone, so I drop the Bridge. Duress takes the Tongs and we draw. On the draw: He duresses the Bridge and the Thallid + Saprolings beat me.
|
|
|
|