|
timmy
|
 |
« on: March 11, 2004, 05:20:55 pm » |
|
Not really a big deal, just curious:
Bob swings with Ophidian and Mishra's Factory, Steve has an ornothopter and a phyrexian walker in play. Steve decides to block - he blocks the factory with the walker and the phid with the ornothopter. "In response" to Steve declaring these blockers Bob bolts the ornothopter and claims that the phid gets through for a card. Steve argues that you can't bolt something in response to assigning a blocker and that even if you could it would still be considered "blocked". Who is right? Steve or Bob?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Hey some jerks cleaned our field! It's awful, it looks like wisconsin.
Team Charlie in the Box
|
|
|
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
   
Posts: 1973
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2004, 05:25:33 pm » |
|
Once blockers are declared, the creature is blocked and will not deal damage to the opponent even if the blocker is removed somehow.
The last opportunity he has to remove a blocker is at the end of the Declare Attackers Step.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
    
Posts: 8074
When am I?
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2004, 05:25:52 pm » |
|
Steve is right on both counts. You can play instants before blockers are declared (in which case, he could block the phid with whatever creature is still around), or after (in which case the phid is still considered blocked), but not "in response". Players don't have priority in the middle of someone declaring blockers.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Meandeck: O Lord, Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile. To those who slander me, let me give no heed. May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
|
|
|
Lockdown
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 179
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2004, 08:03:56 pm » |
|
However, just as a side note, the Ophidian would still deal damage if it was somehow given trample.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
You have the right to say what you wish, and I have the right to deny it.
|
|
|
|
rvs
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2004, 01:29:49 am » |
|
Doing an online judge test? Since that in fact is the typical way they ask questions. However, I doubt anyone here would care, but I'd still like to know :p
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.
Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
|
|
|
|
mouth
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2004, 02:12:55 am » |
|
The whole "Steve this.." thing reminds me of the old rules booklets that came with starter packs back in the day. Brings a tear to me eye, it does.
Tangential question: when did they stop making those rules booklets?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
TracerBullet
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2004, 03:17:18 am » |
|
Mirage, methinks?
You can probably find the info on Crystal Keep, but god damn I'm lazy.
Edit- After not even so much getting off my ass as just moving the mouse a few times and typing a few letters, I discovered that they did them in Tempest as well. After that, they included rules sheets, but no book.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
The room is on fire, and she's fixin' her hair...
|
|
|
|