TheManaDrain.com
November 15, 2025, 11:52:15 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: blocking  (Read 1641 times)
timmy
Basic User
**
Posts: 38


View Profile
« on: March 11, 2004, 05:20:55 pm »

Not really a big deal, just curious:

Bob swings with Ophidian and Mishra's Factory, Steve has an ornothopter and a phyrexian walker in play. Steve decides to block - he blocks the factory with the walker and the phid with the ornothopter. "In response" to Steve declaring these blockers Bob bolts the ornothopter and claims that the phid gets through for a card. Steve argues that you can't bolt something in response to assigning a blocker and that even if you could it would still be considered "blocked". Who is right? Steve or Bob?
Logged

Hey some jerks cleaned our field!
It's awful, it looks like wisconsin.

Team Charlie in the Box
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2004, 05:25:33 pm »

Once blockers are declared, the creature is blocked and will not deal damage to the opponent even if the blocker is removed somehow.

The last opportunity he has to remove a blocker is at the end of the Declare Attackers Step.
Logged

Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2004, 05:25:52 pm »

Steve is right on both counts. You can play instants before blockers are declared (in which case, he could block the phid with whatever creature is still around), or after (in which case the phid is still considered blocked), but not "in response". Players don't have priority in the middle of someone declaring blockers.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Lockdown
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2004, 08:03:56 pm »

However, just as a side note, the Ophidian would still deal damage if it was somehow given trample.
Logged

You have the right to say what you wish, and I have the right to deny it.
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2004, 01:29:49 am »

Doing an online judge test? Since that in fact is the typical way they ask questions. However, I doubt anyone here would care, but I'd still like to know :p
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
mouth
Basic User
**
Posts: 101

10497100
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2004, 02:12:55 am »

The whole "Steve this.." thing reminds me of the old rules booklets that came with starter packs back in the day. Brings a tear to me eye, it does.

Tangential question: when did they stop making those rules booklets?
Logged
TracerBullet
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 577


TracerBullet1000
View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2004, 03:17:18 am »

Mirage, methinks?

You can probably find the info on Crystal Keep, but god damn I'm lazy.


Edit- After not even so much getting off my ass as just moving the mouse a few times and typing a few letters, I discovered that they did them in Tempest as well.  After that, they included rules sheets, but no book.
Logged

The room is on fire, and she's fixin' her hair...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.093 seconds with 18 queries.