TheManaDrain.com
September 20, 2025, 12:21:49 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: (x), Sac, Targets itself.. Legal or Not?  (Read 2715 times)
Tijnie
Basic User
**
Posts: 63


NaarTijnie@Hotmail.com
View Profile
« on: March 23, 2004, 11:44:19 am »

Hi there, Ive one question that you'll almost never need but i want it to know, with a wasteland it might reduce two damage from a PoP.

Wasteland:

Errata:  {Tap}: Add {1} to your mana pool. ; {Tap},Sacrifice Wasteland: Destroy target nonbasic land.

Well the question is really short, can a Wasteland target itself?? same goes for fanatics and other cool stuff. I think not, cause when you sac it, you'll need to pick target after saccing right?? or am I mistaking??

thnx for helping, bye Tijnie
Logged

Desperate men can do Desperate things in Desperate situations...
jpmeyer
fancy having a go at it?
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2390


badplayermeyer
View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2004, 11:48:30 am »

It works.  You pay costs after you choose targets
Logged

Team Meandeck: "As much as I am a clueless, credit-stealing, cheating homo I do think we would do well to consider the current stage of the Vintage community." -Smmenen
JSexton
Basic User
**
Posts: 35



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2004, 03:51:29 pm »

It works. Otherwise, Kaervek's Torch wouldn't work at all.
Logged

--
Justin
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2004, 04:45:32 am »

Quote from: JSexton
It works. Otherwise, Kaervek's Torch wouldn't work at all.


What does Torch have to do with this?
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
JSexton
Basic User
**
Posts: 35



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2004, 12:17:03 pm »

Quote from: MoreFling
Quote from: JSexton
It works. Otherwise, Kaervek's Torch wouldn't work at all.


What does Torch have to do with this?


If you paid costs before targets were chosen, then Torch's ability wouldn't happen. You'd put Counterspell on the stack, pay UU for it, then target Torch. Torch would say, "Okay, when you pay your mana, pay an extra 2." You say, "Ha! I already paid! Too late, sucker!"

But that's not the case. You choose targets, then pay costs. Which explains why you can have Wasteland target itself.
Logged

--
Justin
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2004, 12:50:31 pm »

you sure have the habit of picking esoteric card examples  Very Happy
Logged

i need red mana
Dante
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1415


Netdecking better than you since newsgroup days

wdicks23
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2004, 01:31:36 pm »

Quote from: DEA
you sure have the habit of picking esoteric card examples  Very Happy


It could mean the difference between 2 extra damage from Price of Progress if there are no other non-basics out.  This was more prevelant though when decks actually ran Price....
Logged

Team Laptop

I hate people.  Yes, that includes you.
I'm bringing sexy back
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2004, 02:04:54 pm »

actually i was referring to the torch, not the waste
Logged

i need red mana
JSexton
Basic User
**
Posts: 35



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2004, 05:57:04 pm »

Quote from: DEA
you sure have the habit of picking esoteric card examples  Very Happy


Huh. I tried to use an example which would be generally known to a Type 1 player. I could have used, say, Floodwater Dam instead. That's esoteric.
Logged

--
Justin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.294 seconds with 19 queries.