TheManaDrain.com
December 29, 2025, 08:49:28 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Lair lands and Blood Moon  (Read 2572 times)
mtg_player_2004
Basic User
**
Posts: 72


View Profile
« on: March 23, 2004, 04:33:49 pm »

If you put a [card]Blood Moon[/card] in play, and then you played a Lair Land (i.e. [card]Crosis Catacombs[/card]), do you still return a non-lair land to your hand?
Logged
jpmeyer
fancy having a go at it?
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2390


badplayermeyer
View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2004, 05:17:33 pm »

Crosis's Catacombs becomes a nonbasic Mountain Lair named Crosis's Catacombs.  And since it's a Mountain, that means that the card just says "Add R to your mana pool" and doesn't say anything about returning Lairs to your hand or adding B to your mana pool.
Logged

Team Meandeck: "As much as I am a clueless, credit-stealing, cheating homo I do think we would do well to consider the current stage of the Vintage community." -Smmenen
mtg_player_2004
Basic User
**
Posts: 72


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2004, 05:35:49 pm »

Just to confirm it, I'm talking about before it's in play.  If the moon is already out, the come into play affects don't exist?
Logged
jpmeyer
fancy having a go at it?
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2390


badplayermeyer
View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2004, 05:37:39 pm »

Replacement effects override CIP effects
Logged

Team Meandeck: "As much as I am a clueless, credit-stealing, cheating homo I do think we would do well to consider the current stage of the Vintage community." -Smmenen
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2004, 06:21:37 pm »

Wait, doesn't Blood Moon make it a Mountain named Crosis' Catacombs, not a Mountain Lair? I know it will override other subtypes such as turning and Island Plains -> Mountain.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
mouth
Basic User
**
Posts: 101

10497100
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2004, 07:13:51 pm »

The land would be named Crosis's Catacombs, and would be of type Land - Mountain.

More importantly, as jpmeyer pointed out, the triggered ability never goes on the stack because Blood Moon replaces it's text before it comes into play.

One minor nitpick; Blood Moon creates a continuous effect, not a replacement effect.
Logged
bloodpuppy11
Basic User
**
Posts: 10

bloodpuppy11
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2004, 08:57:54 pm »

One other thing-

Blood Moon does not override "comes into play tapped", so the Invasion crap duals (among others) would still come into play tapped (as a Mountain) under Blood Moon.
Logged
jpmeyer
fancy having a go at it?
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2390


badplayermeyer
View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2004, 09:32:56 pm »

Quote from: Matt
Wait, doesn't Blood Moon make it a Mountain named Crosis' Catacombs, not a Mountain Lair? I know it will override other subtypes such as turning and Island Plains -> Mountain.


Does it?  I'm not sure.  They changed a lot of the rules regarding type changes of all kinds in the 8th Edition update so I can never remember which still apply
Logged

Team Meandeck: "As much as I am a clueless, credit-stealing, cheating homo I do think we would do well to consider the current stage of the Vintage community." -Smmenen
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2004, 10:52:50 pm »

It will just be a Mountain.  It will lose all other subtypes.
Logged
Necrologia
Basic User
**
Posts: 453


RPZ85
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2004, 11:19:14 pm »

Why doesn't Blood Moon override "comes into play tapped" on the invasion lands? Is it considered a characteristic setting ability or something, because I can't find any relevant ruling at Crystal Keep.
Logged

This space for rent, reasonable rates
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2004, 01:36:55 am »

Quote from: Necrologia
Why doesn't Blood Moon override "comes into play tapped" on the invasion lands? Is it considered a characteristic setting ability or something, because I can't find any relevant ruling at Crystal Keep.


It is because this is applied as part of the resolution of the land or as part of what is putting the land into play, before it comes into play and Bloodmoon makes it a mountain with no abilities.
Logged
Necrologia
Basic User
**
Posts: 453


RPZ85
View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2004, 02:56:02 pm »

Thanks Jebus.
Logged

This space for rent, reasonable rates
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.037 seconds with 16 queries.