|
mtg_player_2004
|
 |
« on: March 23, 2004, 04:33:49 pm » |
|
If you put a [card]Blood Moon[/card] in play, and then you played a Lair Land (i.e. [card]Crosis Catacombs[/card]), do you still return a non-lair land to your hand?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
jpmeyer
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2004, 05:17:33 pm » |
|
Crosis's Catacombs becomes a nonbasic Mountain Lair named Crosis's Catacombs. And since it's a Mountain, that means that the card just says "Add R to your mana pool" and doesn't say anything about returning Lairs to your hand or adding B to your mana pool.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Meandeck: "As much as I am a clueless, credit-stealing, cheating homo I do think we would do well to consider the current stage of the Vintage community." -Smmenen
|
|
|
|
mtg_player_2004
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2004, 05:35:49 pm » |
|
Just to confirm it, I'm talking about before it's in play. If the moon is already out, the come into play affects don't exist?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
jpmeyer
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2004, 05:37:39 pm » |
|
Replacement effects override CIP effects
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Meandeck: "As much as I am a clueless, credit-stealing, cheating homo I do think we would do well to consider the current stage of the Vintage community." -Smmenen
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
   
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2004, 06:21:37 pm » |
|
Wait, doesn't Blood Moon make it a Mountain named Crosis' Catacombs, not a Mountain Lair? I know it will override other subtypes such as turning and Island Plains -> Mountain.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
|
mouth
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2004, 07:13:51 pm » |
|
The land would be named Crosis's Catacombs, and would be of type Land - Mountain.
More importantly, as jpmeyer pointed out, the triggered ability never goes on the stack because Blood Moon replaces it's text before it comes into play.
One minor nitpick; Blood Moon creates a continuous effect, not a replacement effect.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
bloodpuppy11
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2004, 08:57:54 pm » |
|
One other thing-
Blood Moon does not override "comes into play tapped", so the Invasion crap duals (among others) would still come into play tapped (as a Mountain) under Blood Moon.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
jpmeyer
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2004, 09:32:56 pm » |
|
Wait, doesn't Blood Moon make it a Mountain named Crosis' Catacombs, not a Mountain Lair? I know it will override other subtypes such as turning and Island Plains -> Mountain. Does it? I'm not sure. They changed a lot of the rules regarding type changes of all kinds in the 8th Edition update so I can never remember which still apply
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Meandeck: "As much as I am a clueless, credit-stealing, cheating homo I do think we would do well to consider the current stage of the Vintage community." -Smmenen
|
|
|
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2004, 10:52:50 pm » |
|
It will just be a Mountain. It will lose all other subtypes.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Necrologia
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2004, 11:19:14 pm » |
|
Why doesn't Blood Moon override "comes into play tapped" on the invasion lands? Is it considered a characteristic setting ability or something, because I can't find any relevant ruling at Crystal Keep.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
This space for rent, reasonable rates
|
|
|
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2004, 01:36:55 am » |
|
Why doesn't Blood Moon override "comes into play tapped" on the invasion lands? Is it considered a characteristic setting ability or something, because I can't find any relevant ruling at Crystal Keep. It is because this is applied as part of the resolution of the land or as part of what is putting the land into play, before it comes into play and Bloodmoon makes it a mountain with no abilities.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Necrologia
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2004, 02:56:02 pm » |
|
Thanks Jebus.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
This space for rent, reasonable rates
|
|
|
|