502.24. Madness
502.24a Madness is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions
while the card with madness is in a player’s hand. The second is a triggered ability that
functions when the first ability is applied. “Madness [cost]” means “If a player would discard
this card, that player discards it, but may remove it from the game instead of putting it into his
or her graveyard” and “When this card is removed from the game this way, until that player
passes next, the player may play it any time he or she could play an instant as though it were in
his or her hand by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. When the player passes next,
he or she puts this card into his or her graveyard.”
502.24b Playing a spell using its madness ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in
rules 409.1b and 409.1f–h.
Madness is an alternate way to play the spell, like Morph or removing a blue card and paying a life for Force of Will.
1) 3. Trinisphere makes all spells cost 3 to play. Paying a spell via Madness is still playing it.
2) No. Standstill will trigger. You are still playing a spell.
3) Yes. Same reason as above. Mana Drain always gives you the converted mana cost, no matter how the spell is played. If an Arrogant Wurm played via Madness is Mana Drained, you get 5 mana, not 3. Just like Chalice of the Void set a 1 will counter a Rootwalla no matter how it is played.
My question is this: Do the costs for Flashback and Madness get reduced by Helm of Awakening or an appropriately colored Tempest medallion?