TheManaDrain.com
October 05, 2025, 01:23:11 pm
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News
:
Home
Help
Search
Calendar
Login
Register
TheManaDrain.com
>
Vintage Community Discussion
>
Rules Q&A
(Moderators:
The Atog Lord
,
Godder
,
Demonic Attorney
,
Clariax
) >
Will and LED
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Author
Topic: Will and LED (Read 1097 times)
lilmidget
Basic User
Posts: 83
Will and LED
«
on:
March 16, 2005, 01:23:09 am »
I know that you can play a Thoughcast with 4 artifacts on the board by announcing the spell, then sacing a sphere for U mana to pay for it.
My question is, why can't you announce Yawgmoth's Will, then sac Lion's Eye Diamond to pay for it?
It seems to me that it should work the same way, but I was told a while ago that this wasn't legal. Can anyone help please? Thanks.
Logged
it's nice to be back.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
Will and LED
«
Reply #1 on:
March 16, 2005, 01:26:41 am »
Because LED's mana ability says "Play this ability only any time you could play an instant" and you can't play instants during the announcement of spell.
The Thoughtcast example is different because Chromatic Sphere's mana ability doesn't have that extra clause.
You can play mana abilities during announcement of a spell unless otherwise stated. LED, Charmed Pendant, and Witch Engine are the only cards that currently have this clause, and Rhystic Cave has a similar but not identical clause.
Oh and [card]Mana Screw[/card] but that's Unhinged and the rules are looser there.
Logged
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
lilmidget
Basic User
Posts: 83
Will and LED
«
Reply #2 on:
March 16, 2005, 01:32:54 am »
Oh I see. Thanks for the quick response.
Logged
it's nice to be back.
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
Posts: 693
Will and LED
«
Reply #3 on:
March 16, 2005, 10:50:58 am »
Note that even though LEDīs ability has a restriction, it is still a mana ability that canīt be responded to, doesnīt use the stack and canīt be countered.
Logged
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage Tournament Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Casual Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Creative
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Rules Q&A
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Miscellaneous
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Card Creation Forum
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage, Type-1 Forum
===> Archived Extreme Vintage Forum
===> Archived Tournament Results Forum
===> Archived Basic User/Newbie Forum
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Rules and Regulations
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> General Community Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Articles and Primers
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=====> Master List
=====> Set In Progress
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Global Vintage Tournament Reports and Results
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Tournament Announcement Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Tournament Announcements
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Other Formats
===> Non-Vintage
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Articles
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Deck Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Archives
=> Adept Chronicles
===> Classic MTGO Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Elder Dragon Highlander Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Northeast U.S.
===> Midwest U.S.
===> Western/Pacific U.S.
===> Southern U.S.
===> Canada
===> Europe
===> Other
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Community Introductions
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Introduction to TMD
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Type 4
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Blue-Based Control
===> Workshop-Based Prison
===> Ritual-Based Combo
===> Null Rod Based Aggro
===> Bazaar-Based Decks
=> General Strategy Discussion
===> Vintage Adept Q&A
===> General Strategy Discussion
=> Eternal Article Discussion
===> Online Tournaments
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Registration for TMD
-----------------------------
Lounges
-----------------------------
===> General Yankee Discussion
Loading...