TheManaDrain.com
November 15, 2025, 01:11:38 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Split Second + Triggered Abilities  (Read 2458 times)
Lybydose
Basic User
**
Posts: 9


Lybydose1
View Profile
« on: November 10, 2006, 11:51:19 am »

How exactly does this work when it comes to abilities that trigger off playing a spell?

For example:

Erayo's Essence
Legendary Enchantment
Whenever an opponent plays a spell for the first time in a turn, counter that spell.

Wipe Away
Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't play spells or activated abilities that aren't mana abilities.)
Return target permanent to its owner's hand.

Tidespout Tyrant
Whenever you play a spell, return target permanent to its owner's hand.

Say I have an Erayo's Essence in play, and my opponent plays Wipe Away as his first spell for the turn.  Does the essence triggerand counter the Wipe Away?  Does the Wipe Away resolve, then the essence attempt to trigger with no legal target?

Say instead I have Tidespout Tyrant in play and I'm the one that plays the Wipe Away.  Does Tidespout's trigger activate?  If so, when does it resolve in relation to the Wipe Away?

Logged
parallax
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2006, 12:32:01 pm »

Split second has no effect on triggered abilities.
Logged

How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
Lybydose
Basic User
**
Posts: 9


Lybydose1
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2006, 05:30:11 pm »

Split second has no effect on triggered abilities.

It has no effect and they trigger and resolve normally, or it has no effect on triggered abilities, so they don't trigger?
Logged
Godder
Remington Steele
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3264


"Steele here"

walfootrot@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2006, 07:02:01 pm »

They trigger and go on the stack normally.
Logged

Quote from: Remington Steele
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
Fubar
Basic User
**
Posts: 168


Sanatorium Rector


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2006, 09:56:35 pm »

I had a judge rule that split second only works when the 'counter' comes from a "conterspell" or ability, but never a trigger; which would prob. be like the flipped Erayo.
Logged

The Shaming of the True
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2006, 10:48:34 pm »

I had a judge rule that split second only works when the 'counter' comes from a "conterspell" or ability, but never a trigger; which would prob. be like the flipped Erayo.

"judge rules" only pertain to that particular event. Split second is pretty clear:
As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't play spells or activated abilities that aren't mana abilities

There are 2 things players cannot do while a spell with split second is on the stack:
1. Play a spell. Any spell. You cannot do it.
2. Activate non-mana activated abilities.

The card text rules of split second say nothing at all about the effect of static abilities, special actions (such as turning a face down creature face-up), or triggered abilities.
Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
Fubar
Basic User
**
Posts: 168


Sanatorium Rector


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2006, 07:50:23 pm »

This might seem noob, but am I correct in thinking when your opponent playes a split second card (ie. trickbind) and that spell is on the stack, I can still respond with activations, counters, instants etc. because the trickbind has not fully resolved?
Logged

The Shaming of the True
parallax
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2006, 08:01:36 pm »

No. The whole point of split second is that you cannot play spells or activated abilities while the spell is on the stack. That's what "As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't play spells or activated abilities that aren't mana abilities." means.
Logged

How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
Komatteru
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 783

Joseiteki


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2006, 01:02:46 am »

This might seem noob, but am I correct in thinking when your opponent playes a split second card (ie. trickbind) and that spell is on the stack, I can still respond with activations, counters, instants etc. because the trickbind has not fully resolved?

You can't play any spells or abilities during the middle of the resolution of a spell regardless of...anything.
Logged
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2006, 07:19:58 am »

This might seem noob, but am I correct in thinking when your opponent playes a split second card (ie. trickbind) and that spell is on the stack, I can still respond with activations, counters, instants etc. because the trickbind has not fully resolved?

You can't play any spells or abilities during the middle of the resolution of a spell regardless of...anything.

You can play mana abilities and take special actions such as flipping over a face down creature.
You just can't play spells and you can't use activated abilities (unless they are mana abilities).
Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2006, 01:22:21 pm »

You can't play any spells or abilities during the middle of the resolution of a spell regardless of...anything.

Word of Command Very Happy
Logged
jro
Basic User
**
Posts: 170


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2006, 04:03:24 pm »

You can't play any spells or abilities during the middle of the resolution of a spell regardless of...anything.
Word of Command Very Happy
And Panglacial Wurm.  And you can play mana abilities during the resolution of a spell or ability if that spell or ability asks for a mana payment.
Logged
EnialisLiadon
Basic User
**
Posts: 379


I like cake.


View Profile Email
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2006, 07:27:16 pm »

We had a similar thing come up in a multiplayer game at our local shop.  I was playing wizard tribal against u/b random cards.dec.  I cracked a fetch, he trickbinded (or Trickbound?).  I then flipped Willbender to redirect Trickbind to Willbender's own triggered ability.  There was some arguing, but we arrived at the conclusion that flipping morphed creatures doesn't use the stack and split second has nothing on triggered abilities.  (though if anything about that is wrong, please correct me)

The obvious moral to this story is that Willbender is the answer to both Wipe Away and Trickbind in t1.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.051 seconds with 21 queries.