TheManaDrain.com
November 04, 2025, 11:00:31 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ruling Confirmation requested Triggers, Dovescape vs. Chalice of the Void  (Read 1609 times)
gotinput
Basic User
**
Posts: 24


US govt calls its IT guys weapon sys maintainers!


View Profile
« on: March 28, 2007, 04:49:18 am »

A UW fish player has leaked that that may be bringing Dovescape to a vintage event. 

If i have chalice in play for 2, and dovescape is in play on my opponents side of the table. 

Here is how I believe it plays out.

He plays a jotun grunt. an echoing truth.

APNAP trigger his dovescape, then triggers chalice.

Chalice would counter the spell.  Dovescape's counter trigger would fizzle. 

Dovescape: Whenever a player plays a noncreature spell, counter that spell. That player puts X 1/1 white and blue Bird creature tokens with flying into play, where X is the spell's converted mana cost.

Being countered doesn't appear to be requirement for the creatures.  I believe it use Last Known Information and give him the creatures anyway.

Edit: fixed non-creature part of question.  Sorry it was late.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2007, 08:17:01 pm by gotinput » Logged

UK Vintage: demonic tutoring up a Kobold FTW!
Harlequin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1860


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2007, 09:07:12 am »

Quote
Being countered doesn't appear to be requirement for the creatures.  I believe it use Last Known Information and give him the creatures anyway.

This is correct.

Most commonly, when people talk about an ability fizzling they are refering to "Countered upon resolution, because all targets no longer exsist"  Now dovescape doesn't target, therefor it won't 'fizzle' in that sense.

Also as you elluded to, it only has 1 complete trigger; and the event that causes the trigger is simply 'playing a non-creature spell.' So the entire trigger resolves as much as it can.   Also if you play somehting that is uncounterable like Urza's Rage, you would get Birds in addition to the spell resolving.


As a side note:  --IF-- dovescape consisted of 2 triggers, then it wouldn't work {but remember this is not true}
So sometihng like:
When a non-creature spell is played, counter it.
When dovescape coutners a spell, make some birds.
Logged

Member of Team ~ R&D ~
lordmayhem
Basic User
**
Posts: 153


Wrath of the Emperor

mark_mintoff@hotmail.com
View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2007, 02:58:54 pm »

Dovescape wouldn't counter his Jotun Grunt, so he wouldn't get any Bird tokens.
Logged
Anusien
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3669


Anusien
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2007, 03:17:41 pm »

Dovescape wouldn't counter his Jotun Grunt, so he wouldn't get any Bird tokens.
This is incorrect.
Quote
Dovescape: Whenever a player plays a noncreature spell, counter that spell. That player puts X 1/1 white and blue Bird creature tokens with flying into play, where X is the spell's converted mana cost.
Dovescape simply has a triggered ability that says "Do X, Do Y".  In this case, you can't do X because Chalice of the Void already did, but you do as much as you can, which is Y.

If you're replying to an existing thread where someone else has given an answer; it's not enough to just give an ansewr.  Explain why you think this is please.
Logged

Magic Level 3 Judge
Southern USA Regional Coordinator

Quote from: H.L. Mencken
The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.
Lunk
Basic User
**
Posts: 43


Lunk42
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2007, 03:30:18 pm »

I believe the point Lordmayhem was getting at was that Dovescape wouldn't trigger at all when Jotun Grunt was played; Dovescape specifies that it triggers on noncreature spells, and Jotun Grunt is, in fact, a creature.

However, if you simply changed the example from Jotun Grunt to a noncreature spell with a CMC of 2, Harlequin's answer holds true.
Logged
Anusien
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3669


Anusien
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2007, 03:34:59 pm »

Good point.  Still, enumerating that more clearly would be useful as a general rule.
Logged

Magic Level 3 Judge
Southern USA Regional Coordinator

Quote from: H.L. Mencken
The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.
lordmayhem
Basic User
**
Posts: 153


Wrath of the Emperor

mark_mintoff@hotmail.com
View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2007, 04:13:17 pm »

My apologies. What I meant to say was that Dovescape wouldn't trigger in the first place since Jotun Grunt is a creature and Dovescape triggers on noncreature spells.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.031 seconds with 19 queries.