TheManaDrain.com
June 24, 2019, 09:16:19 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 16
  Print  
Author Topic: "The Unbroken" U/R Landstill: The Primer  (Read 85895 times)
oshkoshhaitsyosh
Adepts
Basic User

View Profile
« on: October 31, 2011, 08:13:20 pm »

An Introduction

This is what I would call the official Blue/Red Landstill Primer.  My name is Josh Potucek and I have been playing Landstill for about three years in Vintage and about five years in Legacy with great success.  I would like to share some of my experiences and knowledge about Landstill.

WARNING:  This deck does not have blowout victories.  Every match is a grind, even when the matchup is favorable.  You may be in for a life shock when you play this deck!

Landstill is a deck similar to Workshops in a way, but similar to a Drain control deck at the same time. It is similar to Workshops in a sense because it has to grind out wins and create a slow soft lock. But at the same time it has a heavy controlling disruption suite while maintaining good positive card advantage from all aspects.  I donít care what some people may say, but this deck is not an easy deck to play.  The concept may look easy on paper, but mistakes are exaggerated in a deck with no powerful/broken cards, and you will lose making mistakes.

Card Analysis and Choices

Countermagic

Mana Drain: This is a great counter in that it lets you activate Factories on next main phase, cast a Null Rod, Crucible or anything else really. This card can be a bit mana intensive for my lists at times, but I will take the trade off for the positive things Mana Drain allows. This card is a no-brainer.