|
BlueSteel
|
 |
« on: April 20, 2014, 11:47:02 am » |
|
Did a quick search, didn't see anything on this.
Card Name: Echoing Truth Mana Cost: 1Blue Converted Mana Cost: 2
Types: Instant Card Text: Return target nonland permanent and all other permanents with the same name as that permanent to their owners' hands.
I have an active untapped Kuldotha Forgemaster, a Wurmcoil engine and two other artifacts in play. My opponent casts Echoing Truth targeting Wurmcoil Engine. I respond by activating Kuldotha sacrificing Wurmcoil Engine and the two artifacts to search out another Wurmcoil Engine.
Does Echoing Truth "fizzle" because the target is no longer there or does it still resolve affecting "all other permanents with the same name". In other words, does my new Wurmcoil Engine get bounced or does nothing happen?
Thanks
|
|
|
|
« Last Edit: April 20, 2014, 11:53:41 am by BlueSteel »
|
Logged
|
I'm pretty sure there's a lot more to life than being really, really, ridiculously good looking. And I plan on finding out what that is.
|
|
|
|
TVand
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2014, 12:51:11 pm » |
|
Echoing Truth is a targeted spell and as such its target must remain legal for it to resolve, so in this case it would be countered.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
"They say that if you're crazy it makes you sane and, if you're sane, you'll never believe a word of this story."
|
|
|
|
JPoJohnson
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2014, 01:32:10 pm » |
|
Echoing Truth is a targeted spell and as such its target must remain legal for it to resolve, so in this case it would be countered.
This is how it occurs with all targeting spells/abilities. Just as an additional example, if you flickered your Wurmcoil Engine, even though the same card enters back into the battlefield and before the destruction/bounce spell resolves that HAD been targetting it, it is now a 'new' permanent and the spell still fizzles.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle". - Albert Einstein
|
|
|
MaximumCDawg
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2172
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2014, 09:51:39 am » |
|
The tricky bit about this is that a card with a single target gets countered on resolution if the target isn't around anymore, even if it would do other, unrelated stuff in addition. This gets people who case Cryptic Command, for example: they choose to counter a spell and to draw a card, say, and then the spell targeted gets removed from the stack before Command resolves. When that happens, the entire Cryptic Command gets countered, even though part of its ability doesn't need a target.
Single target + no more target = card does absolutely nothing.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Ten-Ten
Basic User
 
Posts: 473
Shalom Aleichem
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2014, 12:03:06 am » |
|
I keep reading "gets countered" when in fact if a spell has no legal target when it would resolve, it merely does nothing. This matters alot when trying to explain cards like Abrupt Decay (which is uncounterable) to newer players.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Colossians 2:2,3 That their hearts might be comforted, being knit together in love, and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the acknowledgement of the mystery of God, both of the Father, and of Christ; In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.
|
|
|
|
The Atog Lord
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2014, 12:59:57 am » |
|
Abrupt Decay can't be countered by spells or abilities. The rules of the game can still counter it. So, if you cast Abrupt Decay on an opponent's Thalia, and your opponent gives her Protection from Black with a Mother of Runes in response, the Abrupt Decay is countered.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
|
|
|
Ten-Ten
Basic User
 
Posts: 473
Shalom Aleichem
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2014, 04:31:35 pm » |
|
608.2b If the spell or ability specifies targets, it checks whether the targets are still legal. A target that’s no longer in the zone it was in when it was targeted is illegal. Other changes to the game state may cause a target to no longer be legal; for example, its characteristics may have changed or an effect may have changed the text of the spell. If the source of an ability has left the zone it was in, its last known information is used during this process. The spell or ability is countered if all its targets, for every instance of the word “target,” are now illegal. This^^ cleared it up..
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Colossians 2:2,3 That their hearts might be comforted, being knit together in love, and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the acknowledgement of the mystery of God, both of the Father, and of Christ; In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.
|
|
|
Tha Gunslinga
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1583
De-Errata Mystical Tutor!
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2014, 10:32:23 pm » |
|
"Countered upon resolution" is the term we're looking for, I believe.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Don't tolerate splittin'
|
|
|
|