Show Posts
|
Pages: [1] 2 3
|
1
|
Eternal Formats / Creative / Re: M10 boons for Workshop decks thread...
|
on: June 14, 2009, 10:44:37 pm
|
Shouldn't affect Leyline's functionality at all.
There is some question as to whether or not Wishes and Research will be able to get cards in the Exile zone. As currently worded, Exiled cards would not be retrievable by such cards, though it is possible that the Wishes and Research could be errataed to include Exile as a legal zone for them to retrieve cards from. How often does the scenario of an opponent Wishing/Researching for a Leyline'd card come up, anyways?
|
|
|
8
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Manabond
|
on: March 29, 2009, 11:48:41 am
|
Compare to Necropotence, which puts the cards into your hand "at end of turn" but you still have to discard down right away. Not true. (Although the rest of your answer is correct) Necropotence sets up a delayed trigger each time you use its "pay 1 life:..." ability. During the End of Turn step, all these go on the stack; once they resolve, both players get priority and must both pass it to proceed to the Cleanup step.
|
|
|
10
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Non-Vintage / Re: Playing Burn in 2 days. Help!
|
on: March 27, 2009, 08:26:22 pm
|
To the above poster: Smash to Smithereens is definitely good with all the Moxen and Jittes running around. Also, Scepter is just slow and vulnerable. Boseiju doesn't seem that great compared to, say, Vexing Shusher. Also, I wouldn't SB out the Vortex.
|
|
|
12
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Eureka with me with 1 card, my opponent with 4
|
on: March 24, 2009, 05:22:34 am
|
Your opponent was correct on Eureka. To quote one of the rulings: "Each player gets a chance to put a card in play starting with you and going around the table to the left (unless your multiplayer variant defines a different ordering). A player may decline to put a card into play when it is their turn. The spell ends when all players decline in a row. [D'Angelo 2002/01/10]"
And yes, you have to declare whether you're attacking your opponent or the 'walker when you declare attackers. It doesn't work like noncombat damage; if you Bolt your opponent, you don't choose whether to redirect it to the 'walker until it's resolving.
|
|
|
20
|
Eternal Formats / Creative / Vault-Key-Painter
|
on: February 12, 2009, 10:18:58 pm
|
// Lands 1 Swamp 1 Academy Ruins 4 Polluted Delta 2 Flooded Strand 3 Island 2 Volcanic Island 3 Underground Sea
// Creatures 3 Painter's Servant 1 Darksteel Colossus
// Spells 1 Mox Pearl 1 Mox Ruby 1 Mox Sapphire 1 Mana Crypt 1 Mana Vault 1 Sol Ring 1 Mox Jet 3 Voltaic Key 1 Merchant Scroll 1 Time Vault 1 Time Walk 4 Force of Will 1 Mystical Tutor 1 Demonic Tutor 1 Grindstone 3 Red Elemental Blast 1 Ancestral Recall 1 Mox Emerald 1 Chain of Vapor 1 Tinker 1 Brainstorm 1 Yawgmoth's Will 4 Thirst for Knowledge 2 Reconstruction 2 Pyroblast
// Sideboard SB: 2 Tropical Island SB: 4 Tarmogoyf SB: 2 Ancient Grudge SB: 1 Darkblast SB: 1 Relic of Progenitus SB: 2 Tormod's Crypt SB: 3 Duress
My attempt at hybridizing a Painter shell with the Intuition-based combo-control Vault-Key approach. MD Red blasts, fairly consistent manabase, Reconstruction for use with Inuition, green in the board for Goyfs for aggro, etc. It seems like the blasts and multiple approaches outweigh the 2nd-tier stuff Tezzeret runs - Top, etc.
|
|
|
23
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Can DSC's 'Indestructible' be stifled?
|
on: February 07, 2009, 10:07:44 pm
|
Invoking Humility requires a Judge's final call, but Humility kinda says "all creatures lose all abilities and become 1/1's"
Such a DSC would die to lightning bolt (but be reshufled into library when "would be put into grave" applies...)
In this case the DSC would not be shuffled in. It would go to the graveyard. Humility removes the ability that keeps it from going to the GY along with all its other abilities. REALLY REALLY REALLY???!!! I was under the impression that the DSC graveyard replacement effect was nigh-unfailiable. I know you are a judge, and as far as TMD is concerned, what you say is law, but I am really shocked at this one. Yes really.
|
|
|
24
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Can DSC's 'Indestructible' be stifled?
|
on: February 07, 2009, 06:44:28 am
|
Actually, indestructibility itself isn't an ability, it's just...a description, as it were. "Darksteel Colossus is indestructible" is an ability. This is why even when Humility is in play, a Marit Lage token from Dark Depths will still be indestructible.
Invoking Humility requires a Judge's final call, but Humility kinda says "all creatures lose all abilities and become 1/1's" Such a DSC would die to lightning bolt (but be reshufled into library when "would be put into grave" applies...) A bolt wouldn't destroy the Marit Lage token, though.
|
|
|
29
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Vesuva + Simic Growth Chamber
|
on: January 05, 2009, 11:45:54 pm
|
Yes.
When something comes into play, you do three things in the following order:
1. Apply replacement effects i.e. "Ghitu Encampent comes into play tapped." or "As Meddling Mage comes into play, name a card." 2. Apply continuous effects i.e. "All creatures get +1/+1". 3. Check for any applicable triggered abilities and put them on the stack.
In this case, Vesuva's copying ability is a replacement effect, so you do it, choosing Growth Chamber; then the game checks for triggered abilities, sees the Vesuva-Chamber's "bounce a land" ability, and puts it on the stack.
|
|
|
30
|
Eternal Formats / Miscellaneous / Re: [Premium Article] So Many Insane Plays -- Understanding Magic
|
on: January 01, 2009, 07:47:02 pm
|
Thanks for the scoop on Garfield's intent on Time Vault.
Any plans to deconstruct Transmute Artifact? It didn't exactly have an awesome combo at the time (other than say, Argivian Archeologist) but the campaign to keep Magic real (as printed) is a good thing.
Now that Time Vault and Flash have been reset, what of Null Rod vs Moxen? I'm not enough of a rules guru to fully argue this, but the "tapping lands for mana don't use the stack" vs "tapping lands for mana is an activated ability" vs "tapping Moxen for mana is an activated ability" always bugged me. I know Trickbind and Stifle specifically prevent disrupting mana abilities, but something seems off still.
Trickbind and Stifle don't actually "specifically" prevent it - note that the bit about how mana abilities can't be targeted is reminder text, not rules text, and thus doesn't actually have any relevance. Basically, the game gets weird if you make mana abilities use the stack; I think the big problem is paying mana during the resolution of another spell i.e. Mana Leak.
|
|
|
|