Show Posts
|
|
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 21
|
|
2
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: sorrow's path?
|
on: May 02, 2007, 08:34:04 am
|
Alas, this does not work. That is because the damage part is part of the activation. Comparing this with city of brass: Whenever City of Brass becomes tapped, it deals 1 damage to you. Tap: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool. you will see what the difference is. Killing your opponent using the icy on a city will work. Combining it with the path is a little bit more difficult.
|
|
|
|
|
5
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Stupid question.
|
on: April 15, 2007, 08:17:28 am
|
I think it is best to answer this question using the "rules addition" on karmic justice10/4/2004 If an opponent destroys Karmic Justice, it will trigger on its own destruction. Applying this to the current situation, burning away the sharpshooters creates a trigger from the sharpshooter. The difference being that this trigger actually does something for karmic justice (costing your opponent a permanent), where it will not deliver for the sharpshooter (untapping an already dead creature is quite difficult I have noticed). Adding 100 squirrel tokens does not add anything, except for adding a lot of triggers that will not do anything upon resolution... Oh, and if you look at the rules forum rules you will see that it is usually nice to add the rules text from cards to your post.
|
|
|
|
|
9
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Suspend Counterspell
|
on: April 05, 2007, 05:00:25 am
|
I think it's a cool idea. Needs a second effect to spice it up. Disagree. Feature bloat seems to be a huge problem in the CCF at the moment. I think this sort of card can stand on its own just fine. I think it's a very interesting effect. At the moment the earliest it can counter something is turn 3 which is the right time. Suspend 4 - U versus Suspend 3 - 1U Thoughts? I agree that it does not need a second effect to be usable. I definately prefer the Suspend 4 - U version, as this is more blue. It starts cheaper, while giving you more control over the card itself (remains in play longer for no investment, and effectively has suspend 3 for 1U too). Assuming we keep the suspend 4 - U version, it is time for a name, flavour, etc?
|
|
|
|
|
10
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Suspend Counterspell
|
on: April 03, 2007, 06:13:59 am
|
For a card creation contest on another forum I made this card, accepting that it would probably cross the line on the powerlevelboundary. And obviously, it did...  However, it did bring me on the track of the card I am suggesting here: Suspend Counterspell 2UU Instant Counter target spell. Suspend 4 - U 1: add or remove a time counter from ~this~. Use this ability only when ~this~ is suspended. Cool idea, or total rubbish? Feedback welcome of course. Current wording: Prophetic Denial 2UU Instant Counter target spell. Suspend 4 - U 1: Put a time counter on ~this~ or remove a time counter from ~this~. Play this ability only if ~this~ is suspended.
|
|
|
|
|
13
|
Vintage Community Discussion / General Community Discussion / Re: Worst Thing to Say During Sex?
|
on: March 29, 2007, 02:48:21 am
|
"Tinker's a sorcery. Get off me, noob!" There's actually a true story behind my suggestion, and it's only slightly less embarassing than exclaiming it during sex. Which reminds me: "Good game" when you roll off seems pretty bad, too. Then at least say "GG"  Which implies that saying something like ROFL or ROFLWPIMP while being at it is probably a bad idea as well...
|
|
|
|
|
14
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Culling the Weak & Phyrexian Negator
|
on: March 28, 2007, 03:39:22 am
|
|
1: So… What happens if no spells or abilities were played immediately after blockers were declared, then the combat damage gets assigned (but damage hasn't resolved yet). Now a bolt is played and I respond with CTW.
The stack would look like this (from oldest to newest items): Combat Damage - Lightning Bolt - Culling the Weak First the culling the weak would resolve (with the negator already in the yard -before- it resolves, as it is part of the payment to be made). The lightning bolt would be countered upon resolution, as it lacks a legal target now. Then the negator deals its 5 damage, with the damage of the goblin disappearing into nothingness.
2: Does a player have to say "I'm playing this spell before, or after combat damage was assigned"?
No. The usual way to do this in the combat phase is that the active players asks "Combat damage on the stack?". This indicates that he hands over priority to the opponent. Then the opponent can choose to fire of spells / abilities (like your opponent did using the bolt), or wait until after combat damage is on the stack.
3: How exactly do you know which is which? 4: An argument can be made for both things to be true, correct? 5: One person can say we played these spells after damage was assigned, and the other says, no we played these spells before damage was assigned.
If you follow the point 2 guideline, no confusion will ensue.
6: Because combat damage is assigned to the stack, does that mean it is on the stack and it will resolve eventually?
This is indeed the case. However, be sure you know which creatures are around when you put combat damage on the stack. Also remember that "combat damage" is not an instant spell that you can put on the stack "at will". Combat damage on the stack can only be done with a fresh empty stack. So in your example, you can only go to the combat damage step after both other spells have resolved.
7: Can spells or abilities be played after combat damage is assigned, but before combat damage resolves?
Yes.
|
|
|
|
|
15
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Echoing Truth and Man lands
|
on: March 27, 2007, 07:07:39 pm
|
That you should be including Oracle text for relevant cards in your questsion is correct.
However, "you might try to figure it out for yourself" is completely out of line. The entire point of this forum is so that people can get answers to their questions and don't have to figure it out for themselves (often can't figure it outfor themselves). Just because the answer becomes obvious to you (or even to the majority) by simply reading the card does not mean the answer is obvious to everyone, and doesn't mean the person asking should be told or suggested that they shouldn't be asking.
My post was intended to give silvernail some pointers to the rules-forum rules and a generally useful link. "Figuring out by yourself" was meant to reflect reading the wording on wizards when looking it up to post it, thereby possibly already answering the question and if that is not the case it obviously is okay to post the problem here. Apparently my post didn't fully reflect my intentions, so my apologies for that.
|
|
|
|
|
18
|
Vintage Community Discussion / General Community Discussion / Re: Which way do you tap?
|
on: March 14, 2007, 06:13:17 am
|
Somehow my first thought on this subject was "what do I care which way the beer goes, as long as its into the glass..." Anyway, I am righthanded and tap clockwise. Also: Also: Problem is, over small areas things like friction, and changes in how water comes out of your faucet, different sized drain holes, etc., will all have much more of an effect. I'll grant you that the Coriolos effect isn't very "strong" in the sense that its influence is orders of magnitude smaller than many other factors (like the ones you describe), but I'd assume those other factors' effects would be random. Some websites describe how the "drain direction" is a function of the way water is added in the first place. Now for a toilet (where water is added under a specific angle as it is drained), I can believe that. But that doesn't hold true for a draining bath, where no water is added while draining. That leaves stuff like geometry of the bath, which I totally can't imagine would result in a preferred direction because there are lotsa types of baths with minor design variations (location of drain etc.) and yet I've never observed the water draining away counter clockwise. And don't gimme any of that "angular momentum" crap those same website throw at you - that only determines the speed of the water in the drain - not the direction. Until someone shows me through rigorous empirical research that the direction is more or less random for draining baths, I still think it's the hand of God or something. I once asked a similar question to the professor in my advanced flow classes (for Bram's info: Gertjan van Heijst). He told some people actually did some experiments both on the northern and southern hemisphere with a circular tank of water, leaving the waters to rest for multiple days (could have been a week). With such a sufficiently prepared environment, the formation was actually completely random. Crisis averted!
|
|
|
|
|
20
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Attacking with Mysterious Morph and responses.
|
on: March 08, 2007, 05:28:55 pm
|
In original situation, the mysterious morph will deal 2 damage, and only 2 damage if both players pass priority, even if Player A flips morph after damage is on stack? (if Akroma, just 2 to face, if Phage, GG)? The damage equals two in both cases. The difference being that after damage is on the stack, you can still flip Phage. Phage is the one dealing the damage now (the damage came from that permanent, most recent info is used), so a Death star trigger will be put onto the stack once the damage resolves. And indeed -> GG.
|
|
|
|
|
21
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Ninja of the deep hours and bounce
|
on: March 07, 2007, 04:45:50 pm
|
|
Yes and no, depending on the "cunning plan" of your opponent.
There are two ways your opponent can interrupt your gameplan, assuming critter A and Ninja B. Plan 1: Bounce Ninja B before damage is on the stack. You can go Ninjitsu on his ass, deal 2 and draw a card. No damage from critter A. Plan 2: Bounce Ninja B after damage is on the stack. You can try to go Ninjitsu on his ass, but it will not change anything. Critter A and Ninja B deal damage, but no card drawing occurs. No trigger as the damage is from the old Ninja, not the one fresh from the monestary.
Exception on plan 2: if critter A happens to have first strike, you can fuck your opponent over twice. If he bounces your Ninja, you can always go japanese fighting style using the Ninja AFTER critter A deals damage. You still can (ab)use your ninja to draw a card. The only way your opponent can prevent you from drawing a card is bouncing with Ninja damage on the stack. He cannot prevent you from dealing full damage though.
I hope I didn't make the examples too complicated...
|
|
|
|
|
24
|
Vintage Community Discussion / General Community Discussion / Re: That's some shit right there
|
on: February 01, 2007, 10:09:00 am
|
It's very easy to see a picture of a sick person and let emotion allow you to assume the worst. Before you go around yelling "lawsuit!", you need to see the full picture and understand all the facts. To add even more strength to your words, I'd like to add this link. In the case of the quoted website, it is just a "hoax" instead of something serious like the discussed woman, but fact (of life) is that a lot of people start shouting / behaving like lunatics even though they haven't even the faintest idea of what is going on. Especially with the "press" smelling a story in it...
|
|
|
|
|
28
|
Vintage Community Discussion / General Community Discussion / Re: Apple iPhone
|
on: January 10, 2007, 10:50:07 am
|
Am I really the only person not hypnotized by all of this junk?
Oh yeah, and when you need a quick fix, you stop at your local vending machine. It's good to have all these toys. That's what the machines want you to think. I sure hope that picture is taken i Japan...
|
|
|
|
|
30
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Is This Too Powerful?
|
on: December 26, 2006, 04:28:22 pm
|
|
As I understand it, you take a cool creature (Phage), make it multicolor AND slap on a huge drawback, just to make sure it can still be chump-blocked or control-magiced... Only advantage is that turns your deck instantly into life.dec if it happens to be sworded.
Sorry, but I don't like it at all, and see no way to make it work in an elegant way...
|
|
|
|
|